2016 Ameripolitan Awards Announce Performers / Open Voting


Rock and Rockabilly Queen Wanda Jackson, Outlaw legend Billy Joe Shaver, country trucker overlord Red Simpson, new generation honky tonk legend Whitey Morgan, and the King of Country and Western Troubadours, Unknown Hinson will all perform at the 3rd Annual, 2016 Ameripolitan Awards along with many others as the Dale Watson-helmed show transpires at the historic Paramount Theatre in downtown Austin on February 16th, 2016.

Other announced performers include the venerable James Hand, daughter of George Jones and Tammy Wynette, Georgette Jones, the Rockabilly Filly Rosie Flores, Doyle and Debbie, Justin Trevino, fiddler Jason Roberts, Kim Lenz, The Country Side of Harmonica Sam, Charlie Thompson, and others.

Voting opens for the 2016 Ameripolitan Awards on Thanksgiving, Thursday Nov. 26th., and can happen one of two ways: on Ameripolitan.com, or through a new app designed by Ballot Blaster. The app will cost $1.99, with a portion of the proceeds going to the Fender Music Foundation.

READ: The Ameripolitan Awards Announce 2016 Nominees

Founded by Dale Watson three years ago after the “Old Farts & Jackasses” comments of Blake Shelton, the Ameripolitan Awards was Dale’s answer to the concern that so many artists doing their best to keep roots traditions alive were going unrecognized by the rest of the country music industry. Since the first year, the awards have grown from a ballroom in a hotel in Austin to the Paramount where people from around the country travel to take part in the festivities. The Ameripolitan Music Awards acknowledges “Artists whose music honors tradition while demonstrating exceptional originality, creativity, and musicianship,” and is a 501(c)3 organization.

The 2016 Ameripolitan Awards will be hosted by Western Swing legend Ray Benson of Asleep At The Wheel. Tickets can be purchased from the Paramount.

© 2024 Saving Country Music