90s Country Band BlackHawk to Return with New/Old Album

If you’re caught up in the whole 90’s country craze, but are not quite sold on new artists trying to emulate that sound as opposed to the real deal, but still want to hear something you’ve never heard before, you happen to be in luck. The 90s country band BlackHawk has a new album on the way, but it’s an old one too.

Responsible for seven Top 10 hits throughout the 90s decade including “Every Once In a While” and “I’m Not Strong Enough To Say No,” the group was made up of vocalists and songwriters Henry Paul, Dave Robbins, and Van Stephenson—the latter whose death in 2001 due to Cancer resulted in the end of the original version of the group, but not before the release of five original records.

But lo and behold, there was a sixth record—or at least the bare bones of one—that was recorded in 1992 and would have comprised the band’s debut, but the songs were never finished, and it never saw the light of day. Called Blue Highway, all twelve songs were written by the BlackHawk members.

Now additional bass, drums, electric guitar, and mandolin has been added to the tracks, and the album will be released on June 24th via BFD/Audium Nashville. Henry Paul and Dave Robbins have carried on the BlackHawk name over the years to keep the memory of the band alive, including the memory of Van Stephenson.

“Without Van, BlackHawk would have never been, and his uniquely beautiful talent was at the heart of all we did,” explains Henry Paul. “Dave [Robbins] and I continue to honor our last promise made to him by keeping BlackHawk together and doing what we can do help find a cure for cancer.”

That includes establishing the Van Stephenson Cancer Research Fund which was founded in 2006, and has since generated over $400,000 for the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center.

“Looking back on BlackHawk’s beginnings, I’m always reminded of the innocence and personal character of our songwriting, and both the fragile beauty and strength of our voices,” continues Paul. “For Van and Dave and I, it was magic watching this exciting chapter in our life’s musical journey unfold. This album once again brings the three of us together and sheds light on the dawn of our creation in those early days.”

Ahead of the album they’ve released the song “Baby, The Rain Must Fall,” which features the band’s distinctive three-part harmonies (listen below). Blue Highway will officially be released June 24th, and is now available for pre-save and pre-order.

Blue Highway Track Listing:

1. Don’t Put Yourself Down 
2. Baby The Rain Must Fall
3. Southern Wind
4. I’m Gonna Find a Way
5. Where The Wild Roses Grow
6. Not By Chance
7. Heavy Hand
8. Heart With a View
9. Blue Highway
10. Breathe The Night
11. One Good Reason
12. Wide Open Spaces

© 2022 Saving Country Music