Chris Stapleton Sets Release Date for “From ‘A’ Room Vol. 2”

Photo: Andy Barron
Photo: Andy Barron

This story has been updated.

The second installment from the Chris Stapleton From ‘A’ Room sessions with producer Dave Cobb at Nashville’s historic Studio ‘A’ will be arriving on December 1st. This is the news coming out of Friday night’s (10-13) show at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena. Stapleton addressed the capacity crowd, saying succinctly and unexpectedly between songs, “We’ve got a record coming out. From ‘A’ Room will be out on December 1st,” causing the crowd to cheer loudly before Stapleton launched into the guitar riff of the next song (see below).

From ‘A’ Room Vol. 2 will follow up what continues to be incredible sales performances for Chris Stapleton album releases. Vol. 1 went #1 all genre in pure album sales upon its release on May 5th, became country music’s first record released in 2017 to be certified gold, and has sold over 525,000 copies so far. The album is also currently up for Album of the Year at the upcoming CMA Awards on November 8th.

Meanwhile his debut album Traveller has sold over 2,075,000 copies, is certified double platinum, and continues to be a perennial Top 5 on the Country Albums charts, usually beating out From ‘A’ Room Vol. 1. As writer Grady Smith pointed out recently, “The other albums in the Top 15 Country chart have sold 1,914,000 cumulatively. And, mind you, of those album sales, 525,000 are for Stapleton’s latest, ‘From A Room, Vol. 1’.”

chris-stapleton-from-a-room-vol-2Unfortunately Stapleton hasn’t been faring as well on radio, with the first From ‘A’ Room single “Either Way” stalling out at #26 on radio, and the current single “Broken Halos” stuck at #32 despite strong sales, and better chart performances on the Hot Country Songs chart which measures in streaming and sales metrics.

So far there is no news if an new single will accompany the release. But Stapleton has already been playing some new songs in concert, including one called “Tryin’ To Untangle My Mind.” From ‘A’ Room Vol. 2 is available for pre-order on iTunes.

From ‘A’ Room Vol. 2 Track List:

1. “Millionaire” (Kevin Welch)
2. “Hard Livin'” (Chris Stapleton, Kendell Marvel)
3. “Scarecrow in the Garden” (Chris Stapleton, Brice Long, Matt Fleener)
4. “Nobody’s Lonely Tonight” (Chris Stapleton, Mike Henderson)
5. “Tryin’ to Untangle My Mind” (Chris Stapleton, Jaron Boyer, Kendell Marvel)
6. “A Simple Song” (Chris Stapleton, Darrell Hayes)
7. “Midnight Train to Memphis” (Chris Stapleton, Mike Henderson)
8. “Drunkard’s Prayer” (Chris Stapleton, Jameson Clark)
9. “Friendship” (Homer Banks, Lester Snell)

© 2022 Saving Country Music