Colter Wall and the Scary Prairie Boys Prep New 45

Cover Photo: Landon Johnson

If you didn’t get your fill of Colter Wall from his 2018 record Songs of the Plains and can’t imagine suffering through the excruciating wait for another full-length from the Canadian Western singer, you’re in luck. A collection of a couple of new songs is headed your way September 27th in the form of Colter Wall and the Scary Prairie Boys. The 7″, 45 rpm record will include two new tracks, will be available in physical form in select record stores and on Coter’s website, as well as digitally.

“I’ve wanted to put out a 45 for a while now and come September 27th these little guys will be available,” Colter says.

Who are the Scary Prairie Boys? They are Colter Wall’s touring band, comprised at last count of steel and dobro player Patrick Lyons, harmonica player Jake Groves, drummer Jordan Solly Levine, and bass player Jason Simpson.

What songs will the 7″ include? According to a RoughTrade listing, it will be two cowboy songs. The first will be “Bob Fudge” written by legendary Canadian singer-songwriter Ian Tyson. Bob Fudge was a famous cowboy who drove cattle from Texas to Montana. Tyson memorialized Fudge in song on his 2002 record Live at Longview. The second song is reported to be “Happy Reunion” by Mike Beck. Mike is a well-respected singer-songwriter and cowboy poet, and “Happy Reunion” appeared on his 2013 album Tribute.

Originally from Saskatchewan, Canada, Colter Wall engages audiences with his one-of-a-kind-voice, and primitive style of folk and Western songwriting. Via his last record Songs of the Plains and now this 7″, the 24-year-old continues to show his dedication to keeping the Western themes in country and folk music alive.

Colter Wall has received numerous endorsements from celebrities and wrestlers, which has allowed him to develop a strong grassroots following. His song “Sleeping on the Blacktop” has appeared in numerous major films including Hell or High Water, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, and the recent Deadwood movie from HBO.

Colter Wall and the Scary Prairie Boys will be available in select blue vinyl and digitally on September 27th.

© 2022 Saving Country Music