Dale Watson to Release New Album “Call Me Insane”


Dale Watson has been slaving away at his Ameripolitan Studios in Austin, TX, working on his followup to 2014’s Truckin’ Session Vol. 3, and 2013’s El Rancho Azul, and just announced Wednesday (3-18) he’ll release his latest record Call Me Insane on June 9th. The news comes as Dale will make an appearance on Wednesday’s Jimmy Kimmel LIVE from SXSW sitting in with Kimmel’s Cleto and the Cletones band.

Dale is known as a prolific artist, sometimes releasing two and three albums a year, but what makes Call Me Insane different is Dale solicited the services of legendary Texas steel guitar player and producer Lloyd Maines to help him with the project. “Having known Lloyd over 20 years and worked with him as a musician, I knew he was a great guy and picker,” Watson says. “But having Lloyd produce your record is like letting your mom in your kitchen. You know you gonna like what comes out and it’s amazing how such basic ingredients can be made even better. He is an artists’ artist.”

Lloyd Maines has similar positive sentiments about Watson. “I’ve been a Dale Watson fan since I played steel guitar on some of his early records,” he says. “My early musical influences are the same as Dale’s. We both grew up playing ‘real’ country music. Dale is one of a very short list of today’s artists who still keeps it ‘real country.’ I’m honored that he asked me to produce his new record. I think he knew that I would maintain the integrity of his passion for the music.” Maines also plays some acoustic guitar on the new record.

Call Me Insane was recorded with Dale’s “Lone Stars” backing band which includes Don Pawlak (pedal steel), Mike Bernal (drums & percussion), and Chris Crepps (upright bass & background vocals). Watson also put piano and a “honky tonk horn section” on the record, and it was engineered by Cris Burns.

Some of the songs fans can expect to hear on the new album include Dale Watson’s George Jones tribute “Jonesin’ For Jones,” and the only cover of the album, “Mamas Don’t Let Your Cowboys Grow Up To Be Babies” written by Tony Joe White with Ed and Sally Bruce to be an answer song to Willie Nelson and Waylon Jennings’ hit of the juxtaposed name. Other tracks include “A Day At A Time,” Bug Ya For Love,” the teary “Crocodile Tears,” the serious “Burden Of The Cross,” and the title track.

Call Me Insane is being release by Red House Records, and will come on CD, digital, and vinyl formats.

© 2024 Saving Country Music