Devil Makes Three Announces New Album “Chains Are Broken”

One of the very first bands to mix punk and bluegrass way before mixing punk and bluegrass was cool will be back with a brand new record this August. Devil Makes Three has announced that their latest project Chains Are Broken will be arriving via New West Records on August 24th. Ahead of the new album they have released a new single called “Paint My Face” (listen below).

Recorded at the Sonic Ranch outside of El Paso, Texas (a favorite haunt of Cody Jinks, Whitey Morgan, and others), the 11-song album was produced by Ted Hutt, who has previously worked with Flogging Molly and Gaslight Anthem among others. Though Devil Makes Three is known for often bringing in collaborators on their albums, this one was cut with the core of the band—songwriter, singer, and guitar player Pete Bernhard, bass player and singer Lucia Turino, and banjo player and singer Cooper McBean. However they did bring in touring drummer Stefan Amidon to also participate in the sessions.

Chains Are Broken marks Devil Makes Three’s first record of original material in five years, since the Buddy Miller produced I’m A Stranger Here. They also released a covers record in 2016, Redemption & Ruin. Though Devil Makes Three is know mostly for a dark, acoustic sound, the first song from the new album called “Paint My Face” has a distinctly electric vibe.

While virtually unknown in certain circles, Devil Makes Three has been making incredible noise on the West Coast for many years, and has formulated a strong fan base that pack theaters whenever the trio comes to town. The Santa Cruz, CA-based band has been active for some 16 years, and has placed two #1 records on the Billboard bluegrass charts.

Chains Are Broken is now available for pre-order.

Track List:

1. Chains Are Broken
2. Pray For Rain
3. Paint My Face
4. Can’t Stop
5. Need To Lose
6. All Is Quiet
7. Bad Idea
8. Deep Down
9. Native Son
10. Castles
11. Curtains Rise

© 2024 Saving Country Music