Flatland Cavalry Announces New Album “Welcome to Countryland”

One of the most important young bands in Texas country is back with a new song out, and a new album on the way. The song is called “Some Things Never Change,” and the album is called Welcome to Countryland, and it will be released on July 2nd. It comes as the band looks to take their music to the next level after now creating worthy buzz in the Texoma scene for nearly a decade.

Recorded at Nashville’s Sound Emporium Studios and produced by Jake Gear, Welcome to Countryland features 14 new songs, all of which were written or co-written by the band’s frontman and singer Cleto Cordero except for one called “A Cowboy Knows How” composed by Luke Combs, Dan Isbell, Jonathan Singleton. Flatland Cavalry recently were signed by the manager of Luke Combs, and Cleto recently moved to Nashville, so recording a Luke Combs song makes sense.

Also collaborating on the album will be Cordero’s wife and fellow performer Kaitlin Butts, and Hailey Whitters on a song called “…Meantime” that was co-written by Cleto and Lainey Wilson. They join other principle Flatland members Reid Dillon (electric guitar), Wesley Hall (fiddle), Jason Albers (drums, background vocals), Jonathan Saenz (bass, background vocals), and Adam Gallegos (piano, keys, mandolin, banjo).

“We spent our time off the road in 2020 working diligently towards this new record,”
says Cleto Cordero. “The support from our fans, friends and family gave us hope to ‘go for broke’ and pour our hearts and souls into the writing and creating of this new batch of songs. I think it is our favorite record that we’ve created to date because it was made during such a critical time in our journey, which, I think, brought a whole new sense of wonder and significance to the project. We can’t wait to give our fans what we believe is our most meaningful album to date!”

Like so many Flatland Cavalry songs, “Some Things Never Change” co-written with P. Palomino features prominent fiddle, and a beat perfect for dancing in boots.

Welcome to Countryland can now be pre-ordered.

Welcome to Countryland Track List:

1. Country Is… – Cleto Cordero, P. Palomino
2. Some Things Never Change – Cleto Cordero, Ava Suppelsa
3. A Cowboy Knows How – Luke Combs, Dan Isbell, Jonathan Singleton
4. Gettin’ By – Cleto Cordero, Jason Nix
5. Well Spent Time – Cleto Cordero
6. Life Without You (feat. Kaitlin Butts) – Cleto Cordero, Brian Keane
7. No Ace In The Hole – Jason Albers, Cleto Cordero, Reid Dillon
8. It’s Good To Be Back (Round Here Again) – Cleto Cordero
9. Tilt Your Chair Back – Cleto Cordero, Ryan Necci
10. Fallen Star – Cleto Cordero
11. Daydreamer – Cleto Cordero, Adam Landry
12. Dancin’ Around A Fire – Cleto Cordero, P. Palomino
13. Off Broadway – Cleto Cordero
14. …Meantime (feat. Hailey Whitters) – Cleto Cordero, Lainey Wilson

© 2023 Saving Country Music