Glen Campbell Readies His Final Album “Adiós”


Glen Campbell will release his final record called Adiós on June 9th. Recorded at Station West in Nashville, the album was produced by long time collaborator Carl Jackson, and will feature appearances by friends Willie Nelson and Vince Gill. It also includes a cover of Harry Nilsson’s iconic “Everybody’s Talkin'” that has been released ahead of the album (listen below), and other covers of classic songs.

Campbell was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease in 2011, and subsequently announced a farewell tour for 2011 and 2012. After the tour is when Adiós was recorded to “[capture] what magic was left” according to Glen’s wife Kim. The album features songs that Campbell loved, but never had a chance to record in his career, including “She Thinks I Still Care” made famous by George Jones, and Roger Miller’s “Am I All Alone (Or Is It Only Me).”

Though songwriters for the album have yet to be revealed, it also appears the album will feature cover of the Jerry Reed penned “A Thing Called Love” recorded by Jimmy Dean and Johnny Cash, and Bob Dylan’s “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right” recorded by a dozen or so others.

Adiós also sees contributions by Campbell’s children Ashley, Shannon and Cal. Ashley Campbell is a banjo player and performer, who briefly was signed to Big Machine’s now defunct Dot imprint. She also played banjo on Glen Campbell’s farewell tour. Her brother Shannon is also a musician, and regularly plays in Ashley’s band. It’s Ashley’s great banjo picking that can be heard on “Everybody’s Talkin'” below.

Glen-Campbell-adiosGlen Campbell turns 81 in on April 22nd. Adiós is now available for pre-order.

Track List:

1. “Everybody’s Talkin’”
2. “Just Like Always”
3. “Funny (How Time Slips Away)” (feat. Willie Nelson)
4. “Arkansas Farmboy”
5. “Am I All Alone (Or Is It Only Me)” (intro by Roger Miller)
6. “Am I All Alone (Or Is It Only Me)” (feat. Vince Gill)
7. “It Won’t Bring Her Back”
8. “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right”
9. “She Thinks I Still Care”
10. “Postcard From Paris”
11. “A Thing Called Love”
12. “Adiós”

© 2024 Saving Country Music