International Bluegrass Music Awards Announce 2014 Nominees


The International Bluegrass Music Association unveiled their list of nominees for their 25th Annual Awards on Wednesday, August 13th. The IBMA will hold their awards this year in Raleigh, NC at the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts on October 2nd. Nominees were announced at The Factory in Franklin, TN, facilitated by Music City Roots who broadcast the announcement ceremony live.

The Boxcars lead all nominees with 10 IBMA nods, while Blue Highway comes in with nine nominations. The Del McCoury Band also scored high with six, while newcomers Detour, Flatt Lonesome, Town Mountain, The Spinney Brothers, and Volume Five earned “Emerging Artist of the Year” honors. See the full list of nominees below.

Entertainer of the Year

  • Balsam Range
  • Blue Highway
  • Dailey & Vincent
  • The Gibson Brothers
  • The Del McCoury Band

Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Del McCoury
  • Buddy Melton
  • Tim O’Brien
  • Frank Solivan
  • Dan Tyminski

Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Dale Ann Bradley
  • Alison Krauss
  • Claire Lynch
  • Amanda Smith
  • Rhonda Vincent

Vocal Group of the Year

  • Balsam Range
  • Blue Highway
  • Dailey & Vincent
  • The Gibson Brothers
  • Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Instrumental Group of the Year

  • Balsam Range
  • Blue Highway
  • The Boxcars
  • The Del McCoury Band
  • Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen

Emerging Artist of the Year

  • Detour
  • Flatt Lonesome
  • The Spinney Brothers
  • Town Mountain
  • Volume Five

Album of the Year

  • Hall of Fame Bluegrass – Junior Sisk and Joe Mullins (artist), Junior Sisk and Joe Mullins (producers), Rebel Records
  • It’s Just A RoadThe Boxcars (artist), The Boxcars (producer), Mountain Home
  • Noam Pikelny Plays Kenny Baker Plays Bill Monroe – Noam Pikelny (artist) Gabe Witcher (producer), Compass Records
  • Streets of BaltimoreThe Del McCoury Band (artist), Del McCoury (producer), McCoury Music
  • The GameBlue Highway (artist), Blue Highway (producer), Rounder Records

Song of the Year

  • Dear Sister” – Claire Lynch (artist), Claire Lynch and Louisa Branscomb (writers)
  • Grandpa’s Way of Life” – The Spinney Brothers (artist), Mark ‘Brink’ Brinkman (writer)
  • It’s Just a Road” – The Boxcars (artist), William Keith Garrett (writer)
  • The Game” – Blue Highway (artist), Shawn Lane and Barry Bales (writers)
  • You Took All The Ramblin’ Out of Me” – The Boxcars (artist), Jerry Hubbard (writer)

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year

  • Love Does” – Darin and Brooke Aldridge (artist), Flying (album), Jamie Johnson, Suzanne M. Johnson and Jenee Fleenor (writers), Darin and Brooke Aldridge (producers), Organic Records
  • The Day We Learn to Fly” – Volume Five (artist), The Day We Learn To Fly (album), Stacy Richardson and Leroy Drumm (writers), Volume Five (producers), Mountain Fever
  • Wait A Little Longer Please Jesus” – Donna Ulisse (artist), I Am a Child of God (album), Hazel Marie Houser (writer), Bryan Sutton and Donna Ulisse (producers), Hadley Music Group
  • When Sorrows Encompass Me Around” – The Boxcars (artist), It’s Just A Road (album), Paul Edgar Johnson (writer), The Boxcars (producer), Mountain Home
  • Won’t It Be Wonderful There” – Dailey & Vincent (artist), Brothers of the Highway (album), Mildred Styles Johnson (writer), Jamie Dailey and Darrin Vincent (producers), Rounder Records

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year

  • Five Miles to Milan” – The Grascals (artist), When I Get My Pay (album), Danny Roberts (writer), The Grascals (producer), Mountain Home
  • “Graveyard Fields” – Steep Canyon Rangers (artist), Tell The Ones I Love (album), Mike Guggino (writer), Larry Campbell (producer), Rounder Records
  • Johnny Don’t Get Drunk” – Adam Steffey (artist), New Primitive (album), Public Domain, Adam Steffey (producer), Organic
  • Skillet Head Derailed” – The Boxcars (artist), It’s Just a Road (album), Ron Stewart (writer), The Boxcars (producer), Mountain Home
  • Thank God I’m A Country Boy“- Special Consensus with Buddy Spicher, Michael Cleveland and Alison Brown (artists), Country Boy: A Bluegrass Tribute to John Denver (album), John Martin Sommers (writer), Alison Brown (producer), Compass Records

Recorded Event of the Year

  • American Pickers“- The Grascals with Dierks Bentley (artists), The Grascals (producer), Mountain Home
  • Keepin’ It Between the Lines (Old School)” – Peter Rowan with Bobby Osborne, Jesse McReynolds, Ronnie McCoury and Del McCoury (artists), Alison Brown (producer), Compass Records
  • Martha White, Lester & Earl” – Terry Baucom with Marty Raybon & Buddy Melton (artists), Terry and Cindy Baucom (producers), John Boy and Billy Records
  • Wild Montana Skies” – Special Consensus with Claire Lynch & Rob Ickes (artists), Alison Brown (producer), Compass Records
  • Wild Mountain Honey” – Junior Sisk and Joe Mullins (artists), Junior Sisk and Joe Mullins (producers) Rebel Records

Instrumental Performer of the Year – Banjo

  • Jens Kruger
  • Mike Munford
  • Noam Pikelny
  • Sammy Shelor
  • Ron Stewart

Instrumental Performer of the Year – Fiddle

  • Jason Carter
  • Michael Cleveland
  • Stuart Duncan
  • Bobby Hicks
  • Ron Stewart

Instrumental Performer of the Year – Dobro

  • Jerry Douglas
  • Andy Hall
  • Rob Ickes
  • Randy Kohrs
  • Phil Leadbetter

Instrumental Performer of the Year – Guitar

  • Tony Rice
  • James Alan Shelton
  • Kenny Smith
  • Tim Stafford
  • Bryan Sutton

Instrumental Performer of the Year – Mandolin

  • Sam Bush
  • Sierra Hull
  • Frank Solivan
  • Adam Steffey
  • Chris Thile

Instrumental Performer of the Year – Bass

  • Barry Bales
  • Mike Bub
  • Missy Raines
  • Mark Schatz
  • Darin Vincent
© 2023 Saving Country Music