Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit Announce New Album “Weathervanes”

The alpha male of Americana Jason Isbell has announced his latest album to be released via his own Southeastern Records distributed by Thirty Tigers, and in anticipation the album has already swept the Americana Awards and been bestowed three Grammys, even though it won’t be released until June 9th.

Called Weathervanes, the album immediately becomes one of the most anticipated releases in independent music for 2023 from Isbell’s track record of being one of the landmark songwriters of our time. It is especially anticipated among sports journalists and Twitter users who love to misappropriate Jason Isbell as country.

Joining Jason Isbell on the new album will be his backing band The 400 Unit that includes Sadler Vaden on guitar, Jimbo Hart on bass, drummer Chad Gamble, and Derry deBorja on keyboards, further confusing Spotify users who don’t know to search for Isbell’s music with the 400 Unit band name, and think the Alabama native hasn’t released an album since 2015’s Something More Than Free.

Wife Amanda Shires also appears on the new album via fiddle and backing vocals, with other guests including harmonica player Mickey Raphael, Sylvia Massey and Ian Rickard also on backing vocals, and strings on a song by Morgan O’Shaughnessey. Isbell and Shires were also recently named the 2023 ambassadors for Record Store Day on April 22nd.

Further verifying the unusual kismet that the sports commentary world has with Jason Isbell, ESPN personality Wright Thompson fawningly and majestically describes the new album in a teaser video as:

“[Jason Isbell’s] latest collection of grown-up songs: songs about adult love, about change, about the danger of nostalgia and the interrogation of myths, about cruelty and regret and redemption. Life and death songs, played for and by grown-ass people. Some will make you cry alone in your car, and others will make you sing along with thousands of strangers in a big summer pavilion or majestic old theater, united in the great miracle of being alive.”

Jason added via a press release on Tuesday (2-21), “There is something about boundaries on this record. As you mature, you still attempt to keep the ability to love somebody fully and completely while you’re growing into an adult and learning how to love yourself.” And as we all know, Jason Isbell definitely loves himself.

One shake up on the new album is that Jason Isbell will no longer be relying on the services of Dave Cobb as producer. Having produced every Jason Isbell album since 2013’s Southeastern when Cobb stepped in for Ryan Adams, Weathervanes was produced by Jason Isbell himself. Ahead of the album, Isbell has released the propulsive rock song “Death Wish” (listen below).

Weathervanes is now available for pre-order.

Weathervanes Track List:

1. Death Wish
2. King Of Oklahoma
3. Strawberry Woman
4. Middle Of The Morning
5. Save The World
6. If You Insist
7. Cast Iron Skillet
8. When We Were Close
9. Volunteer
10. Vestavia Hills
11. White Beretta
12. This Ain’t It
13. Miles

© 2024 Saving Country Music