Jesse Daniel Announces New Album “Beyond These Walls”

photo:Bret Hartman

One of the fastest-rising names in traditional country music over the last few years has been small town California-native turned Texas transplant Jesse Daniel. Now in a quick turnaround time from his highly-regarded album Rollin’ On from 2020, he’s ready to release another long player called Beyond These Walls on July 30th, which Daniel considers he best record yet, and a love letter to country music.

“I wanted this record to reflect where I’m at in life…a more mature album and version of my sound, but without sacrificing any of the things that make it ‘Jesse Daniel.’ Every song on this record reflects a part of me,” he says.

Similar to his last album, Jesse Daniel recruited producer Tommy Detamore for the project recorded at Cherry Ridge Studios, and Jodi Lyford sang harmonies and co-wrote many of the album’s tracks with Jesse. The studio sessions also featured Ronnie Huckaby, who is the leader of George Strait’s Ace in the Hole band, and Kevin Smith who plays with Willie Nelson.

The new album also comes with a Spanish flavor, including the Tejano-style worker’s anthem “El Trabajador” inspired by the time Jesse spent working at flea markets with his mother and step-father who is a native of Northern Mexico. The song is sung as a duet with none other than the legendary Raul Malo of The Mavericks. The album also includes the sad accordion of the Ranchera lament “Soñando Contigo.”

But don’t worry, there’s plenty of the honky tonk-style traditional country you’ve come to expect from Jesse Daniel, and even a bluegrass song closing the set called “I’ll Be Back Around” where the album pulls its title from, and that features Tommy Detamore on dobro, fiddle by Hank Singer, and flatpicking guitar by John Carroll.

Jesse Daniel has been touring recently with Charley Crockett, and continues to create a buzz around his burgeoning career. He will also be playing at the massive Under The Big Sky Fest in Montana this July with a bunch of other big names.

A new song from the album called “Think I’ll Stay” has just been released (listen below), and Beyond These Walls can now be pre-saved.


1. Clayton Was a Cowboy
2. Lookin’ Back
3. Simple Things
4. Texas Summer Night
5. Think I’ll Stay
6. Drop a Line (Out Here on the Water)
7. Angel on the Ground
8. El Trabajador
9. Living in the Great Divide
10. Gray
11. Soñando Contigo
12. I’ll Be Back Around

© 2023 Saving Country Music