Josie Toney Is Poised To Break Out with New Album “Extra”

If you’ve been swept up by the Sierra Ferrell phenomenon over the last few years, then you probably don’t need an introduction to Josie Toney. With her fiddle playing, harmonies, and million-watt smiles, she added breadth, skill, and beauty to Sierra Ferrell’s sound in one of country and roots music’s most enthralling experiences.

Folks have noticed recently that Josie Toney has not been playing Sierra Ferrell. But don’t worry, there’s no bad blood, and you won’t be missing Josie Toney for long. Just announced, she will be releasing a new album on April 7th called Extra, with a new song “City Girl Blues” out now, and more singles on the way in the coming weeks. That’s right, it’s time to get ready for Josie Toney’s solo career.

Originally from Olympia, Washington with a family history in music including old-time and other traditional styles, Josie Toney is so much more than just a fiddle player. Sure, she backed up Sierra Ferrell from 2021 to 2023, and has also shared stages with the likes of Billy Strings, Nikki Lane, and Old Crow Medicine Show and played memorable performance as places like Red Rocks and the Ryman Auditorium. But now she’s ready to wow folks as a singer and songwriter.

When Josie Toney sings, she evokes the ghosts of the classic country era. A graduate of the Berklee College of Music in Boston, she received the Sam Eisenson Award for Country Music from the prestigious music school. She also won the FreshGrass fiddle championship in 2019.

What’s cool about Josie Toney releasing a solo album is that it speaks to just how strong the swell in deeply rooted country roots has become. Toney recently posted a video singing Webb Pierce’s “Cryin’ Over You” that’s pretty spectacular (see below). As great as she is covering classic country music though, the new album Extra will be composed of all original songs. It’s being released by Like You Mean It Records.

Josie Toney is also scheduled to appear at SXSW this upcoming week at the Oh Boy Records/Like You Mean It Records showcase at Parish on Saturday, March 18th.

– – – – – – – – – – –

Extra Track List:

1. Before I Met You
2. Cryin’ Lonesome
3. Too Long In Life
4. Extra
5. Good Time Boy
6. Nobody’s Gonna Cry For Me
7. City Girl Blues
8. Always Fine
9. Peach Pickin’ Time In Georgia
10. Don’t Regret
11. Mama Lou

© 2023 Saving Country Music