Lineup Announced for Willie Nelson’s 2017 4th of July Picnic


A traditional like few others will transpire once again this summer when Willie Nelson celebrates the 4th of July by gathering together friends and family for his annual 4th of July Picnic. For the third year in a row, the event will be held at the Circuit of the Americas speedway just south of Austin, TX, and will include many long-standing invitees and Nelson family members in the lineup, as well as other special guests.

Included in this years lineup are country traditionalist Jamey Johnson, Texas music mainstays the Turnpike Troubadours, songwriters Hayes Carll and Steve Earle, upsurging traditionalist Margo Price, along with the usual cast of music legends such as Johnny Bush, Ray Wylie Hubbard, Billy Joe Shaver, David Allan Coe, Asleep at the Wheel, and others. This year’s picnic is squeezed in between installments of the Outlaw Music Fest, which sees some of the same names joining the lineup, including Sheryl Crow. The Raelyn Nelson Band, Folk Uke, and Lukas Nelson are some of the Willie-related acts that also made the lineup.

The tradition of the Willie Nelson 4th of July Picnics started with the Dripping Springs Reunion in 1973 (not held on the 4th, incidentally), with the idea of putting together a “Hillbilly Woodstock.” The Dripping Springs reunion featured Bill Monroe, Buck Owens, Charlie Rich, Dottie West, Roger Miller, Loretta Lynn, right beside Willie, Waylon Jennings, and Kris Kristofferson. Over the years the picnics have gone on to feature artists forgotten by Nashville, and up-and-comers right beside big name talent. Many years the picnic was a losing propositions financially, but Willie’s commitment that has kept them going.

Acts will perform on two separate stages: the Grand Plaza stage near the entrance to the racetrack, and in the Austin360 Amphitheater. Tickets go on sale Friday, April 21st, at 10:00 a.m. CT., and prices will range from $39.50-$89.50.

The 2017 4th of July Picnic lineup is:

  • Willie Nelson and the Family Band
  • Kacey Musgraves
  • Jamey Johnson
  • Steve Earle
  • Margo Price
  • Asleep at the Wheel
  • Turnpike Troubadours
  • Hayes Carll
  • Sheryl Crow
  • Ray Wylie Hubbard
  • Johnny Bush
  • Billy Joe Shaver
  • David Allan Coe
  • Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real
  • Insects vs. Robots
  • Raelyn Nelson Band
  • Folk Uke


© 2023 Saving Country Music