Loretta Lynn Sets Release Date for Delayed Album “Wouldn’t It Be Great”

The uncertainty surrounding Loretta Lynn’s latest album is over, and so is the long wait for the country music legend’s return to the spotlight. Announced on Wednesday (8-22), Loretta’s delayed Legacy Recordings album Wouldn’t It Be Great will be released on September 28th, 2018. Ahead of the release, she’s also made available the title track, which Loretta explains was inspired by her almost 50-year marriage to the notorious Oliver “Doolittle” Lynn (listen below).

“Well, my husband liked to drink a lot and that’s where that song comes from,” Lynn says. “‘Say you love me just one time, with a sober mind’… I always liked that song but I never liked to sing it around Doo.”

Wouldn’t It Be Great was recorded primarily at the Cash Cabin Studios in Hendersonville, TN, with caretaker of the studio John Carter Cash acting as producer along with Patsy Lynn Russell, Loretta’s daughter. “That song just always meant so much to me,” Patsy Lynn says about the title track. “Because of the lyrics, you know, ‘when my fancy lace couldn’t turn your face,’ it was just so powerful and was a song that needed to be recorded for this album with Loretta. It shows just how masterful my mom is with writing down her feelings.”

Wouldn’t It Be Great was originally scheduled to be released on August 18th, 2017 via Sony’s Legacy Recordings. But after Loretta Lynn suffered a mild stroke on May 5th, 2017, Lynn chose to delay the release until she was healthier to help promote it. Then on January 8th, 2018, fans were notified that Loretta Lynn had suffered another health setback after falling and fracturing her hip. On July 11th though, she re-appeared, excited to be working on a new video for the album.

The new album features 13 songs, all of which were written or co-written by Loretta herself. Just like her first Legacy Recordings release, the album is a mix of new songs, and re-recordings of some of her most legendary cuts. Loretta is said to have recorded upwards of 90 songs at the Cash Cabin over the last few years in preparation of regular releases from Sony Legacy.

Wouldn’t That Be Great can now be pre-ordered.


1. “Wouldn’t It Be Great?” (written by Loretta Lynn)
2. “Ruby’s Stool” (written by Loretta Lynn, Shawn Camp)
3. “I’m Dying for Someone to Live For” (written by Loretta Lynn, Shawn Camp)
4. “Another Bridge to Burn” (written by Loretta Lynn, Lola Jean Dillon)
5. “Ain’t No Time to Go” (written by Loretta Lynn, Patsy Lynn Russell)
6. “God Makes No Mistakes” (written by Loretta Lynn)
7. “These Ole Blues” (written by Loretta Lynn, Patsy Lynn Russell)
8. “My Angel Mother” (written by Loretta Lynn)
9. “Don’t Come Home a Drinkin’” (written by Loretta Lynn, Peggy Sue Wells)
10. “The Big Man” (written by Loretta Lynn, Shawn Camp)
11. “Lulie Vars” (Traditional, arrangement by Loretta Lynn)
12. “Darkest Day” (written by Loretta Lynn)
13. “Coal Miner’s Daughter” (written by Loretta Lynn)

© 2024 Saving Country Music