Margo Price Resets Album Release Date, Issues New Song

photo: Bobbi Rich

Margo Price was ready to issue her third studio album That’s How Rumors Get Started May 8th on her new label of Loma Vista Records. But like some other titles, the decision was made to delay the release due to the uncertainty around COVID-19. Now it’s been announced that the record will be released on July 10th, and a new song and video called “Letting Me Down” accompanies the news (see below).

“This album is a postcard of a landscape of a moment in time. It’s not political but maybe it will provide an escape or relief to someone who needs it. Sending love to everyone out there and hope I see you down the highway,” says Price, who worked with Sturgill Simpson as a co-producer on her first record after exiting Third Man Records.

The new Margo album was recorded in 2017 in Los Angeles, and Sturgill chose to forgo Margo’s touring band for a set of studio musicians that included Matt Sweeney on guitar, drummer James Gadson, Pino Palladino on bass, and Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers keyboardist Benmont Tench.

“Letting Me Down” is the third song Margo Price has issued from the new record, and like the previous two, it was co-written with husband Jeremy Ivey. The video for the song was directed by Kimberly Stuckwisch who drove all the way from Los Angeles to Nashville to film the video during the pandemic, pulling a self contained travel trailer behind so they wouldn’t have to risk making stops in hotels or restaurants. It was shot in Margo Price’s home and an abandoned hospital.

Margo Price also issued an 11-song live album from the Ryman on May 21st called Perfectly Imperfect from the Ryman recorded in 2018 for the benefit of the COVID-19 Relief Fund. It includes guest appearances by Emmylou Harris, Sturgill Simpson, and Jack White.


1. That’s How Rumors Get Started
2. Letting Me Down
3. Twinkle Twinkle
4. Stone Me
5. Hey Child
6. Heartless Mind
7. What Happened To Our Love?
8. Gone To Stay
9. Prisoner of the Highway
10. I’d Die For You