Marty Stuart to Release “Saturday Night & Sunday Morning”


What’s better than a new album from Marty Stuart? Try two new albums from Marty Stuart released at the same damn time, and that’s just what will transpire when the scarved one doles out the double album Saturday Night & Sunday Morning on September 30th, backed by “Cousin” Kenny Vaughan,” “Apostle” Paul Martin, and “Handsome” Harry Stinson, otherwise known as The Fabulous Superlatives.

As the name implies, the Saturday Night & Sunday Morning project will delve into the duality of country music as both fulfilling the fun of the working class when it’s time to cut loose on the weekends, and when one finds themselves looking for forgiveness and redemption the next day. The first album, subtitled Rough Around The Edges is pretty self-explanatory, while the second disc subtitled Cathedral is also being touted as a sequel to Stuart’s critically-acclaimed 2008 release, Soul’s Chapel. The second album is said to also include a collaboration with The Staple Singers on the song “Uncloudy Day”.

Marty Stuart, Saving Country Music’s 2012 Artist of the Year, has stayed very busy since releasing his last studio album Nashville Volume 1: Tear The Woodpile Down. Along with spitting out one super episode after another of his revered The Marty Stuart Show on RFD-TV and playing shows across the country, Marty recently compiled a collection of his still shot photography taken over the years to form a new exhibit at Nashville’s Frist Center in downtown. From one of the last living shots of Johnny Cash, to Bill Monroe and Unknown Hinson, the collection offers an intimate look at country music through Marty’s eyes. 

Listen to the new Marty Stuart song “Rough Around The Edges”.

Saturday Night & Sunday Morning Tracklist:

Saturday Night – Rough Around The Edges
1. Jailhouse
2. I’m Blue, I’m Lonesome
3. Geraldine
4. Rough Around The Edges
5. When It Comes To Loving You
6. Sad House Big Party
7. Talkin’ To The Wall
8. Lifes Ups And Downs
9. Look At That Girl
10. Old, Old House
11. Streamline

Sunday Morning – Cathedral
1. Uncloudy Day (featuring The Staple Singers)
2. Boogie Woogie
3. Long Walk To Heaven
4. That Gospel Music
5. The Gospel Way
6. Mercy Number 1
7. Firing Line
8. God Will Make A Way
9. Good News
10. Angels Rock Me To Sleep
11. Cathedral
12. Heaven

© 2024 Saving Country Music