Mo Pitney Announces New Album “Ain’t Lookin’ Back”

If you think all major label artists are built the same, you don’t know Mo. Before Chris Stapleton blew up unexpectedly, before Jon Pardi hit it big, Mo Pitney was one of the few major label artists that gave us faith in country music’s future. Some fiddling around and foot dragging with his career by Curb Records took a bit of his early momentum away. But Piney remains one of the more promising performers in country music with a great voice, great picking skills, and an ear for songs that lean towards the traditional.

Mo Pitney will release his second record called Ain’t Lookin’ Back on August 14th via Curb Records. The 13-song album will be available for pre-order on May 15th, and is preceded by a host of standalone singles, including the already released “Ain’t Bad For A Good Ol’ Boy,” “Right Now With You,” and the title track (listen below). A new song called “Mattress on the Floor” will premier on May 15th as well.

Produced by Jim “Moose” Brown, Jamey Johnson makes a guest appearance on the opening track. Along with Pitney co-writing seven of the songs himself, the album also features songwriters Paul Overstreet, Tim Nichols, Matt Jenkins, Trevor Rosen, Matt Ramsey, Billy Montana, Jimmy Yeary, Mark Nesler, Tom Douglas, and others.

“I wanted to be completely open-minded while recording this album,” Pitney says. “It was important for me to meld all my influences of the past that represent who I am as an artist today, hopefully to make one complete thought and to make something new. The end goal was to shut out all other voices, close our eyes, and create something that came from the heart. I’m looking forward to taking this body of work that is completely me and sharing it with the world. I’m excited to see people’s reactions.”

Breaking through on radio has been a challenge for Pitney so far, but he’s developed a strong grassroots fan base over the years that will be there to support Ain’t Lookin’ Back from the Illinois native when it is released.


  1. A Music Man (feat. Jamey Johnson)
  2. Right Now With You
  3. Ain’t Bad For A Good Ol’ Boy
  4. ‘Til I Get Back To You
  5. Looks Like Rain
  6. Boy Gets The Girl
  7. Ain’t Lookin’ Back
  8. Old Home Place (feat. His All-Star Band)
  9. Plain and Simple
  10. Mattress On The Floor
  11. Local Honey
  12. Old Stuff Better
  13. Jonas

© 2023 Saving Country Music