New Hayes Carll Album “You Get It All” Calls Heavily on Country

photo: David McClister

Songwriter and native Texan Hayes Carll has always been one of those cats who’s sat right on the periphery of country music in that mutable, undefinable “Americana” space as someone similar to Townes Van Zant or Guy Clark who always put the songwriting first and worried about genre second. But Carll’s coming out and saying with his upcoming record called You Get It All to be released October 29th on Dualtone that his country roots rise to the surface.

“I like to tug at heartstrings, find commonality with others, reflect on my own life, and sometimes I do it in a lighthearted way,” says Carll. “A lot of musical styles found their way onto this record, but my first and most formative influences came from country music. This is a country singer-songwriter record. It’s just unapologetically me.”

Of course Carll hasn’t just crafted his own performing career, but has contributed as a songwriter to some big country music names, including Lee Ann Womack, Kenny Chesney, and most recently Brothers Osborne. When composing the new album, along with the influences of guys like Dylan and Tom Waits rattling around in his head, Carll also heard Randy Travis, Hank Williams Jr., and Kenny Rogers.

Co-writers on the album include folks like Sean McConnell, Josh Morningstar, and Brandy Clark who also appears on the track “In The Meantime,” but of course most of the music springs from the pen of Carll himself. You Get It All was produced by Hayes Carll’s wife and fellow songwriter Allison Moorer with Kenny Greenberg. Hayes calls Allison Moorer, “…a world-class artist who has a way of helping me articulate my vision.”

Allison Moorer also sounds to be the inspiration for the title track of the record, which has just been released. Part love letter, and part apology, it’s Carll’s submissive proclamation to Moorer (listen below).

“I hope this record helps people feel good, laugh a bit, and maybe give them something to lean on when they need it,” Hayes Carll says. “I hope they dance to it, too.”

You Get It All is now available for pre-order.

You Get It All Tracklist
1. Nice Things
2. You Get It All
3. Help Me Remember
4. Any Other Way feat. Aaron Ratiere
5. Different Boats
6. In the Meantime feat. Brandy Clark
7. She’ll Come Back to Me
8. To Keep From Being Found
9. Leave It All Behind
10. The Way I Love You
11. If It Was Up to Me

© 2023 Saving Country Music