Newest Additions to Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist (#16)

Corporate country has figured out a way to weasel its same command and control structure strangling commercial radio into online playlists and leave many of the best and the brightest of country on the wayside. But Saving Country Music is doing its level best to even the playing field by offering a healthy alternative highlighting the music that most needs to be heard, regardless how well-connected the performer may happen to be.

Newcomer Dillon Carmichael already made an impact with his debut single off his upcoming Dave Cobb-produced record “Old Songs Like That.” Now he’s recorded another gem with his second offering, “Made to Be a Country Boy,” which starts off the latest additions to the Top 25 Current playlist.  Trampled by Turtles have come back after a four-year hiatus, and released a new song “Kelly’s Bar” off their upcoming new album Life Is Good on the Open Road out May 4th. Sarah Shook has a new album of her own called Years out April 6th, and has released the song “Good As Gold” that makes the playlist.

The major label of Kacey Musgraves seems to have no strategy to get her music on the radio, but “Space Cowboy” is a great mix of classic country heartache and contemporary styling, and putting it on the playlist seems like a no brainer. And as a bit of a wild card, here comes a song called “Midnight Bell” by the outfit Grace Basement, which reminds one of the great progressive Southern rock of outfits such as Glossary and Austin Lucas. This sludgy, gritty track is a killer listen.

The Saving Country Music Top 25 Playlist primarily lives on Spotify, but is also available for those who use Google Play, and now on Apple Music thanks to Country Exclusive. For those who don’t stream, you can still find the song recommendations in list form below.

CLICK HERE to Follow Saving Country Music on Spotify, and/or follow the Spotify Top 25 Playlist.

Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist:


  • “Road Crew” – Mike and the Moonpies – Steak Night at the Prairie Rose
  • “Mr. Jukebox” – Joshua Hedley – Mr. Jukebox
  • “Made to Be a Country Boy” – Dillon Carmichael
  • “Kelly’s Bar” – Trampled By Turtles – Life Is Good on the Open Road
  • “Space Cowboy” – Kacey Musgraves – Golden Hour
  • “Country Music’s Dead” – Mike & The Moonpies w/ John Baumann
  • “This Town Is Killing Me” – Caitlyn Smith – Starfire
  • “She Ain’t In It” – Jon Pardi – California Sunrise
  • “Midnight Bell” – Grace Basement – Mississippi Nights
  • “Bottom of the Barrel” – Lee Ann Womack – The Lonely, The Lonesome & the Gone
  • “Just Outside of Austin” – Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real – Self-Titled
  • “Fast Money” – Urban Pioneers – Hillbilly Swing Music
  • “Honky Tonk Habit” – Bart Alan Woytek – (single)
  • “If I Could Make You My Own” – Dori Freeman – Letters Never Read
  • “Good As Gold” – Sarah Shook & the Disarmers – Years
  • “If You Ain’t Cheatin’” – Yellow Feather – And Gold
  • “A Tornado Warning” – Turnpike Troubadours – A Long Way From Your Heart
  • “Flicker & Shine” – Old Crow Medicine Show – Volunteer
  • “Sold (The Grundy County Auction Incident)” – Raelyn Nelson Band
  • “Evolution – Jason Link – Music City Machine
  • “Last of the Houston Honky Tonk Heroes” – Emily Herring – Gliding
  • “Postcard” – First Aid Kit – Ruins
  • “It’s Alright” – South City Revival – South City Revival
  • “A Little Dive Bar in Dahlonega” – Ashley McBryde
  • “Good People” – Josh Grider – (single)
© 2023 Saving Country Music