Newest Additions to Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist (#26)

The newest additions to Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Playlist start with the opening tracks to a couple of cool new records. John R. Miller and the Engine Lights have a new album out called The Trouble You Follow, and the witty and true “Holy Dirt” tops the newest incarnation of the playlist, chased by the infectious and twangy “Other Side” from the new self-titled album from Folk Soul Revival.

The story ahead of the new Carson McHone record called Carousel out October 26th is that it’s a slight departure from her country roots, but the lead single “Sad” is plenty twangy and heartbreaking enough for a sad bastard country playlist like this one, as is the excellent country crooner from Robbie Fulks and Linda Gail Lewis titled “That’s Why They Call It Temptation” off of their new collaborative record Wild! Wild! Wild! .

Those who’ve joined the Joshua Hedley bandwagon due to his new album Mr. Jukebox won’t have to wait another year or two for new music. Just released are two songs that were part of a Record Store Day release previously, but are new to the digital world. “Singin’ a New Song” is a great selection from the set, and slides onto the playlist where it belongs. And last but not least is one of the best songs off of Texas music songwriter William Clark Green‘s new album Hebert Island. With so much anger and envy in the world right now, a song about the virtues of being “Poor” is a welcomed lesson.

– – – – – – – –

The Saving Country Music Top 25 Playlist primarily lives on Spotify, but is also available for those who use Google Playand on Apple Music thanks to Country Exclusive. For those who don’t stream music, you can still find the song recommendations in list form below.

CLICK HERE to Follow Saving Country Music on Spotify, and/or follow the Spotify Top 25 Playlist.

Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist:


  • “Holy Dirt” – John R. Miller – The Trouble You Follow
  • “Other Side” – Folk Soul Revival – Self-Titled
  • “Come Around” – El Coyote – El Coyote
  • “Over You” – Sarah Shook and the Disarmers – Years
  • “Singin’ A New Song” – Joshua Hedley – Broken Man 2-Song Album
  • “Head Case” – Cody Jinks – Lifers
  • “Love To Try Them On” – Shane Owens – It’s a Southern Thing
  • “Better Boat” – Kenny Chesney (ft. Mindy Smith) – Songs for the Saints
  • “Off The Wagon” – Cliff Westfall – Baby You Win
  • “Sad” – Carson McHone – Carousel
  • “Cadillac Man” – Wes Youssi and the County Champs – Down Low
  • “One Day At A Time” – American Aquarium – Things Change
  • “Honky Tonk Hell” – Whitey Morgan and the 78’s – Hard Times and White Lines
  • “Calgary Round-Up” – Colter Wall – (single)
  • “Road Stone” – Drew Moreland – Self-Titled
  • “Lovers & Liars” – Kristina Murray – Southern Ambrosia
  • “Best Seat in the House” – Blackberry Smoke – Find A Light
  • “The Dreamer” – Jay Bragg – Honky Tonk Dream
  • “When I Heard” – Frank Newsome – Gone Away with a Friend
  • “Drove Her Away” – Tim Culpepper – DUI (Drinkin’ Under The Influence)
  • “From Here” – Rhyan Sinclair – Barnstormer
  • “.30-06” – Brent Cobb – Providence Canyon
  • “That’s Why They Call It Temptation” – Robbie Fulks, Linda Gail Lewis – Wild! Wild! Wild!
  • “Takin’ Me a Heartbreak” – Randall King – Randall King
  • “People Get Old” – Lori McKenna – The Tree

© 2024 Saving Country Music