Newest Adds to Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist (#141)

Summer is in full swing, and that means plenty of time for hanging out near bodies of water and listening to the best songs in independent country. Don’t buy into what Nashville proclaims is the “Song of the Summer.” Find your own.

The Saving Country Music Top 25 Playlist is built to keep you informed on all the best songs and albums coming out right here, right now in country and roots music. It’s available on most all streaming formats (see below), or you can just use the song, artist, and album recommendations to find something new to listen to. New songs just added.

Newest Additions:

Charlie Marie – “Montana” – Charlie Marie is one of the greatest gems of independent country music. She announced she was walking away from music a while back, but as Saving Country Music reported last year, she was starting to make her way back. She just released a magnificent four song live set recorded by the Western AF folks, crowned by “Montana.” Don’t get too attached to these versions. Proper studio versions may come in the future. But for now, we’ll take the new tunes.

Lance Roark – “Big Bad Heart” – Lance Roark is a big bad songwriter coming up in the Oklahoma/Red Dirt world, and infectious songs like this are the reason why. He’s made big fans of all those dudes in the Turnpike Troubadours, and got a co-write on their last album.

Jesse Daniel – “Cut Me Loose” – You can’t go wrong with just about any cut on the new Jesse Daniel album Countin’ The Miles, but “Cut Me Loose” crowns the playlist with super tasty guitar work that also gives the players a couple extra rounds on the end.

Kaitlin Butts feat. Vince Gill – “Come Rest Your Head (On My Pillow)” – A bawdy T-shirt at the Two Step Inn festival in Texas last year proudly proclaiming a woman’s chest as “cowboy pillows” is what originally inspired this song. But the result is much more sentimental, and brought to another level by the inclusion of Country Hall of Famer Vince Gill. Kaitlin’s Roadrunner is out June 28th.

Shawna Thompson – “Burn It Down” – Yes, this is Shawna Thompson from the duo Thompson Square. Not that Thompson Square couldn’t do a little traditional country at times, but “Burn It Down” is a downright Outlaw country scorcher that makes you want to hear what else Thompson has in store for her upcoming album Lean On Neon out September 13th.

Walker Montgomery – “Leave You Leaving Behind” – The son of John Michael Montgomery and nephew of Eddie Montgomery has been around for a while. But “Leave Your Leaving Behind” really impresses, and takes his music to a new level. Expect a new EP coming from him later this year.

Red Shahan – “Wish Me Well” – The Texas songwriter has just released a super tasty country soul album called Loose Funky Texas Junky, and “Wish Me Well” is a great specimen for illustrating what you can expect from the rest of the album.

– – – – – – – – – –

The Saving Country Music Top 25 Playlist primarily lives on Spotify, but is also available for those who use Amazon Music, YouTubeApple Music, and Tidal. For those who don’t stream music, you can still find the song recommendations in list form below.

CLICK HERE to follow Saving Country Music on Spotify, and/or follow the Spotify Top 25 Playlist.

Please Note: The songs on this playlist are curated for listening pleasure and flow. Otherwise, they are not in any specific order.

Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist:

  • “Cut Me Loose” – Jesse Daniel w/ Ben Haggard– Countin’ The Miles
  • “Big Bad Heart” – Lance Roark (single)
  • “Traveling The Highway Home” – Kelsey Waldon w/ Margo Price – There’s Always a Song
  • “Come Rest Your Head (On My Pillow)” – Kaitlin Butts w/ Vince Gill – Roadrunner (6-28)
  • “Overnight Success” – The Mavericks – Moon & Stars
  • “Make It Back Home” – Pat Reedy – Make It Back Home
  • “I Can’t Unlove You” – Kimmi Bitter – Old School
  • “Wish Me Well” – Red Shahan – Loose Funky Texas Junky
  • “Burn It Down” – Shawna Thompson – Lean On Neon (9-13)
  • “Montana” – Charlie Marie – Live AF
  • “Leave Your Leaving Behind” – Walker Montgomery – (single)
  • “Drinkin’ For Free” – Sachin and the Porch – (single)
  • “Drive & Cry” – Emily Nenni – Drive & Cry
  • “I Hate To See Those Flowers Die” – Conrad Fisher – (single)
  • “Lonely” – Scotty McCreery – Rise & Fall
  • “Workin’ Hands” – Tylor & the Train Robbers – Hum of the Road
  • “Lone Star State of Mind” – Presley Haile – (single)
  • “Fast Asleep” – 49 Winchester – Leavin’ This Holler (8-2)
  • “The Future Is Coming Fast” – John Moreland – Visitor
  • “Roadrunner” – Kaitlin Butts – Roadrunner (6-28)
  • “Use Me” – Zach Top – Cold Beer & Country Music
  • “Letting It Go” – Alice Wallace – Here I Am (6-28)
  • “Wish I Could Stay” – Wyatt Flores – Half Life EP
  • “Ain’t Done Losing Yet” – Charley Crockett – $10 Cowboy
  • “Wish You Well” – Sierra Ferrell – Trail of Flowers
© 2024 Saving Country Music