Nominees Announced for the 2017 Americana Music Awards


The Americana Music Association announced the nominees for their 2017 awards on Tuesday afternoon (5-9) via a live press conference from the Country Music Hall of Fame’s Ford Theater. Along with announcing the nominees, the presentation included performances from Caitlin Canty, Jason Isbell, The Drive-By Truckers, including Isbell joining the Truckers acoustically to reprise his song “Outfit,” Jerry Douglas, and the Milk Carton Kids, who also hosted the event.

Sturgill Simpson leads all 2017 nominees with three, including Artist of the Year, Album of the Year, and Song of the Year for “All Around You.” Off the strength of his recent album Close Ties, Rodney Crowell received two nominations, including Album of the Year, and Song of the Year for “It Ain’t Over Yet.” Lori McKenna and the Drive-By Truckers also received two nominations, and John Prine showed the longevity of his career by picking up a Artist of the Year nomination.

The full list of nominees can be seen below, and the entire presentation can be streamed below as well. Winners will be announced at the annual awards show Wednesday, September 13th as part of AmericanaFest.

Artist of the Year

  • Jason Isbell
  • John Prine
  • Lori McKenna
  • Margo Price
  • Sturgill Simpson

Album of the Year

  • Drive-By Truckers “American Band”
  • Sturgill Simpson “A Sailor’s Guide to Earth”
  • Rodney Crowell “Close Ties”
  • Rhiannon Giddens “Freedom Highway”
  • Hurray for the Riff Raff “The Navigator”

Song of the Year

  • Sturgill Simpson “All Around You”
  • Rodney Crowell “It Ain’t Over Yet”
  • Ryan Adams “To Be Without You”
  • Lori McKenna “Wreck You”

Duo/Group of the Year

  • Billy Bragg and Joe Henry
  • Drive By Truckers
  • Marty Stuart and His Fabulous Superlatives
  • The Lumineers

Emerging Artist of the Year

  • Aaron Lee Tasjan
  • Amanda Shires
  • Brent Cobb
  • Sam Outlaw

Instrumentalist of the Year

  •  Jen Gunderman
  • Courtney Hartman
  • Charlie Sexton
  • Spencer Cullum Jr.

© 2024 Saving Country Music