Nominees for UK and International Americana Awards Announced


Americana music isn’t just for Americans. And even though this may confuse an already much-argued etymology for one of America’s (and the world’s) most fastest-growing genres, significant efforts continue to be undertaken to make the Americana movement transatlantic and international. This was on display in September when British songwriter Billy Bragg was presented with the Spirit of Americana award at the 2016 Americana Music Awards and Honors at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. Later when Billy Bragg performed a Woody Guthrie song, it was easy to hear why both the music and the message of Americana need not be hemmed in by borders.

Last week the nominations for the 2017 UK Americana Awards were announced at Gibson Studios in London. Though the awards are mostly meant to shine the spotlight on talent from the United Kingdom, they also act as the international arm of the Americana Awards, with specific categories for international recipients. Like all awards and nominations, their value can be up for interpretation, but it gives listeners some good insight into what is rising to the top in Americana from a more international perspective, and might clue the curious onto something new.

Just like in the United States, the UK Americana Awards are part of a wider AmericanaFest that will span two days and feature some 20 bands along with conference presentations. The awards will occur Thursday, February 2nd at St. John at Hackney in London, and be hosted by well-known British Americana voice Bob Harris.

Nominees for the 2017 UK Americana Awards

UK Album of the Year

Ghost by Lewis & Leigh (produced by Matt Ingram)
Mockingbird Lane by Danni Nicholls (produced by Chris Donohue)
Nos Da Comrade by Peter Bruntnell (produced by Peter Bruntnell)
Palomino by Treetop Flyers (produced by Treetop Flyers)

International Album of the Year

A Sailor’s Guide To Earth by Sturgill Simpson (produced by Sturgill Simpson)
American Band by Drive-By Truckers (produced by David Barbe)
Angeleno by Sam Outlaw (produced by Joachim Cooder and Ry Cooder)
Midwest Farmer’s Daughter by Margo Price (produced by Alex Munoz and Matt Ross-Spang)

UK Song of the Year

‘Mr Sunshine’ by Peter Bruntnell (written by Peter Bruntnell and Bill Ritchie)
‘Silver Liner’ by Ethan Johns & the Black-Eyed Dogs (written by Ethan Johns)
‘Tend To The Thorns’ by William the Conqueror (written by Ruarri Joseph)
‘The 4:19’ by Lewis & Leigh (written by Al Lewis and Alva Leigh)

International Song of the Year

‘Dust’ by Lucinda Williams (written by Lucinda Williams)
‘Hands of Time’ by Margo Price (written by Margo Price)
‘Somebody Save Me’ by Cale Tyson (written by Cale Tyson)
‘Welcome To Earth (Pollywog)’ by Sturgill Simpson (written by Sturgill Simpson)

UK Artist of the Year

Bear’s Den
Billy Bragg
Lewis & Leigh
Yola Carter

International Artist of the Year

Margo Price
Mary Chapin Carpenter
Richmond Fontaine
Sturgill Simpson

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

CJ Hillman
Dave Little
Henry Senior
Kirk Bowman

Lifetime Achievement Award

Richard Thompson

© 2022 Saving Country Music