Reba McEntire to Reissue Deluxe Edition of Landmark Album

Reba McEntire at her finest is some of the best country music you can find. She proved that when she released her latest album, 2019’s Stronger Than The Truth, which marked the redhead’s return to the more traditional-sounding country of her early career, and it turned out to be one of the best albums released all year.

Well she’s hearkening back once again by making her next release a deluxe edition reissue of her landmark triple platinum album Rumor Has It from 1990 to mark the 30th Anniversary. Her first pairing with producer Tony Brown known for working with George Strait and Vince Gill as well, Rumor Has It included Reba’s signature hit “Fancy” written by the elusive Bobbie Gentry, along with other great songs.

“I never imagined I’d get the chance to put out an album for a second time,” McEntire says. “It’s just so much fun to look back and remember where we were and what we were doing when they were originally released. This album in particular is very special to me because it was the first time I got to record with Tony Brown and he was the reason I finally got to record ‘Fancy.’ Now here we are 30 years later and I never end a show without singing that song.”

Rumor Has It went on to be a massive critical and commercial success, but it took some time for it to stick. Though most recall “Fancy” as Reba’s biggest hit, the song only reached #8 on the country charts at the time. “You Lie” was the #1 from the album, with “Fallin’ Out of Love” hitting #2, and “Rumor Has It” peaking at #3. It took time for “Fancy” to be revealed as the country music standard that it is today.

The new deluxe edition of Rumor Has It will be made available on limited edition orange vinyl, with a bonus acoustic version of “Fancy” that was recorded live at the The Ryman Auditorium. The CD and digital versions will also include the Ryman bonus track, as well as a (gulp) “dance” version of “Fancy.”

The Rumor Has It 30th Anniversary edition will be released on September 11th, and is now available for pre-order.


1. “Climb That Mountain High”
2. “Rumor Has It”
3. “Waitin’ for the Deal to Go Down”
4. “You Lie”
5. “Now You Tell Me”
6. “Fancy”
7. “Fallin’ Out of Love”
8. “This Picture”
9. “You Remember Me”
10. “That’s All She Wrote”
11. “Fancy” (Dave Aude Remix) [Bonus Track]
12. “Fancy” (Live at the Ryman) [Bonus Track]

© 2023 Saving Country Music