The 2015 Americana Music Awards Nominees Announced

americana-music-awards-associationOn Thursday afternoon via The Ford Theatre at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, the Americana Music Association announced the nominees for the 2015 Americana Music Awards. Hosted by The Milk Carton Kids and featuring John Hiatt, Nikki Lane, and the First Family of the Banjo—Béla Fleck and Abagail Washburn—they announced the nominees in the six major categories. The event was streamed through Music City Roots.

The Awards will happen Wednesday, September 16th at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville as part of the greater Americana Music Conference. Four Lifetime Achievement Awards are also regularly handed out in the fields of songwriting, performance, instrumentalist, and a “Spirit of Americana Award, Free Speech in Music” award.

Stugill Simpson, Shakey Graves, and Lucinda Williams lead the nominees, with all three receiving nods for Album, Song, and Artist recognition. Sturgill’s guitar player Laur Joamets also gets into the action with an Instrumentalist of the Year nomination.

Last year’s winners included Jason Isbell for Artist, Album (Southeastern), and Song of the Year (“Cover Me Up”), Sturgill Simpson for Emerging Artist of the Year, Buddy Miller for Instrumentalist of the Year, and The Milk Carton Kids for Duo or Group of the Year.


Artist of the Year

  • Rhiannon Giddens
  • Jason Isbell
  • Sturgill Simpson
  • Lucinda Williams
  • Lee Ann Womack

Album of the Year

  • And The War Came Shakey Graves; Produced by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Chris Boosahda
  • Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone Lucinda Williams; Produced by Lucinda Williams, Tom Overby and Greg Leisz
  • Metamodern Sounds In Country Music Sturgill Simpson; Produced by Dave Cobb
  • The Way I’m Livin’ Lee Ann Womack; Produced by Frank Liddell
  • Tomorrow Is My Turn Rhiannon Giddens; Produced by T-Bone Burnett

Song of the Year

  • “Dearly Departed” Shakey Graves; Written by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Esme’ Patterson
  • “East Side Of Town” Lucinda Williams; Written by Lucinda Williams
  • “Terms Of My Surrender” John Hiatt; Written by John Hiatt
  • “Turtles All The Way Down” Sturgill Simpson; Written by Sturgill Simpson
  • “You’re The Best Lover That I Ever Had” Steve Earle & the Dukes; Written by Steve Earle

Duo/Group of the Year

  • Bela Fleck & Abigail Washburn
  • The Lone Bellow
  • The Mavericks
  • Punch Brothers
  • Shovels & Rope

Emerging Artist of the Year

  • First Aid Kit
  • Houndmouth
  • Nikki Lane
  • Doug Seegers
  • Shakey Graves


Instrumentalist of the Year

  • Hubby Jenkins
  • Laur Joamets
  • Greg Leisz
  • John Leventhal
  • Stuart Mathis
© 2024 Saving Country Music