The 2016 Americana Music Awards Announce Nominees


Early Wednesday evening (5/11), the nominees for the 2016 Americana Music Awards were announced via NPR’s live stream from the historic Mansion on O Street in Washington, DC. The event was hosted by the Milk Carton Kids, and featured performances from multiple Americana artists, including Margo Price, Sierra Hull, the Milk Carton Kids, and Lucinda Williams.

Jason Isbell walked away with the most nominations, scoring consideration for Artist of the Year, Album of the Year, and Song of the Year for “24 Frames.” Chris Stapleton picked up two nominations, as did Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats, and Lucinda Williams. Stapleton wasn’t the only major label artists to receive consideration. Kacey Musgraves’ “Dime Store Cowgirl” was nominated for Song of the Year.

The Americana Honors & Awards will transpire on September 21st at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville as part of the greater Americana Music Conference happening between September 20th and 25th. Lifetime Achievement Awards will also be announced leading up to the awards.

Artist of the Year

  • Jason Isbell
  • Bonnie Raitt
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Lucinda Williams

Album of the Year

  • Lucinda Williams –  Ghosts of Highway 20
  • Jason Isbell – Something More Than Free
  • Chris Stapleton – Traveller
  • Parker Millsap – The Very Last Day

Song of the Year

  • “24 Frames” – Jason Isbell
  • “Dime Store Cowgirl” – Kacey Musgraves
  • “Hands of Time”  – Margo Price
  • “S.O.B.” – Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats

Duo/Group of the Year

  • Alabama Shakes
  • Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell
  • Lake Street Dive
  • The Milk Carton Kids
  • Tedeschi Trucks Band

Emerging Artist of the Year

  • Leon Bridges
  • John Moreland
  • Margo Price
  • Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats

Instrumentalist of the Year

  • Cindy Cashdollar
  • Stuart Duncan
  • Jedd Hughes
  • Sara Watkins
© 2024 Saving Country Music