The Ameripolitan Awards Announce 2017 Nominees


The 4th Annual Ameripolitan Awards will transpire at the Paramount Theatre in Austin TX on February 15th, 2017, and Tuesday morning the organization that looks to shine a spotlight on American music with a heavy roots influence announced the nominees for the 2017 awards. Awards are handed out in four primary categories, and given out to male, female, and group nominees. Venues, DJ’s, festivals, and musicians are also nominated.

Founded by Dale Watson after the “Old Farts & Jackasses” comments of Blake Shelton, the Ameripolitan Awards was Dale’s answer to the concern that so many artists doing their best to keep roots traditions alive were going unrecognized by the rest of the country music industry. Since the first year, the awards have grown from a ballroom in a hotel in Austin to the Paramount where people from around the country travel to take part in the festivities. The Ameripolitan Music Awards acknowledges “Artists whose music honors tradition while demonstrating exceptional originality, creativity, and musicianship,” and is a 501(c)3 organization.

The 2017 Ameripolitan Awards will be hosted by Western Swing legend Ray Benson of Asleep At The Wheel, and Dale Watson.

Voting for the nominees will commence on December 18th Sunday, January 8, 2017. Fans can vote using the ‘Ameripolitan’ app or online at Tickets for the 4th Annual Ameripolitan Music Awards start at $45 and are available now at

Honky Tonk Group

Country Side of Harmonica Sam – Sweden

Gary P Nunn and The Bunkhouse Band – Oklahoma

Jake Hooker & The Outsiders – Paradise, Texas

The Cactus Blossoms – Minneapolis, Minnesota

The Malpass Brothers – Goldsboro, NC


Honk Tonk Male

Jake Penrod – Austin, Texas

Artie Rodriguez – Defuniak Springs, Florida

Luke Bell – Nashville, TN

Jason James – Houston, Texas

Joshua Hedley – Nashville, TN

Honky Tonk Female

Lorraine Chavana – Austin, Texas

Brennen Leigh – Austin, Texas

Vanessa Niemann – New Orleans, LA

Leona Williams – Branson, Missouri

Karen Jonas – Fredericksburg, VA


Western Swing Group

Carolyn Sills Combo – Santa Cruz, CA

Western Flyers – Ft. Worth, TX

50 Shades of Hay – Nashville, TN

Western Swing Authority – Ontario, Canada

Shoot Low Sheriff – Dallas, TX


Western Swing Female

Stacey Lee Guse – Ontario, Canada

Carolyn Sills – Santa Cruz, CA

Kristyn Harris – McKinney, TX

Mikki Daniel – Richardson, TX

Wendy Newcomer – Nashville, TN

Western Swing Male

Billy Mata – San Antonio, TX

Jake Hooker – Ft. Worth, TX

Pokey LaFarge – St. Louis, Missouri

Dave Alexander – Dallas, Texas

Jody Nix –Big Spring, TX


Rockabilly Group

The Silvershakers – Fayetteville, Arkansas

The Doel Brothers – Hants, England

Jittery Jack – Boston, MA

Don Diego Trio – Italy

Nathan Belt and the Buckles – Nashville, TN

Rockabilly Male

Marcel Riesco – Los Angeles, CA

Adam Lopez – Denver, CO

Bloodshot Bill – Montreal, Canada

Babe Miller – Detroit, Michigan

Lance Lipinsky – Chicago, IL


Rockabilly Female

Lara Hope –  Hudson Valley, NY

Bailey Dee – Chicago, IL

Rockin Bonnie – Italy

Fia Sco – Vienna, Austria

Cherry Divine – Melbourne, Australia


Outlaw Group

Dallas Moore Band – Cincinnati, OH

Barnyard Stompers – San Antonio, TX

The Ponderosa Aces – Long Beach, CA

Miss Lonely Hearts Band – Santa Cruz, CA

Tony Martinez Band – Phoenix, AZ

Outlaw Male

Dusty Rust – Kansas City, MO

Hank III – Nashville, TN

AJ Hobbs – Los Angeles, CA

Cash O’Riley – Flint, MI

Scott H. Biram – Austin, TX


Outlaw Female

Jenny Don’t – Portland, Oregon

Tommy Ash – Phoenix, AZ

Darci Carlson – Seattle, WA

Sissy Brown – Lawton, OK

Emily Nenni – Nashville, TN



Rock’ N’ Bowl – New Orleans, LA

Don the Beachcomber – Huntington Beach CA

The Nashville Palace – Nashville TN

Lil’ Red’s Longhorn Saloon – Fort Worth TX

American Legion Post 82 – Nashville, TN

Sportsmen’s Tavern – Buffalo NY

Skinny Dennis – Brooklyn NY

The Four Corners Music Hall – Untermeitingen, Germany

Lee’s Liquor Lounge – Minneapolis, MN

Zoo Bar, Lincoln – NE



Nashville Boogie – Nashville, TN

New England Shake Up – Sturbridge, MA

Best Little Cowboy Gathering-La Grange, TX

Screamin’ Festival – Barcelona, Spain

West Port Roots Festival – Kansas City, MO



Jimi Palacios, WHIV 102.3 FM New Orleans, LA

Julea Thomerson, WMBLA 1690 Atlanta, GA

James Riley, SURF 97.3 FM Flager Beach FL

Woody Adkins, KOPN 89.5 FM Columbia MO

Chuck Ramsey, Texas Dance Hall Radio, Oklahoma

Marivi Yubero, Aventura Radio, Madrid, Spain

Eddie White, 2RRR 88.5 FM Sydney Australia

Ann Harwood Lucas, KCWM 1460 AM, Hondo, TX

Don Sticksel, Los Angeles, CA

Timothy Benton KSVY 91.3 FM Sonoma Valley, CA


Mike Bernal – Austin, TX

Clyde Mattocks – North Carolina

Joel Patterson – Chicago, IL

Chris Scruggs – Nashville, TN

Chris Casello – Nashville, TN

Ashley Kingman – Los Angeles, CA

Brett Resnick

Earl Pool Ball – Austin, TX

Rose Sinclair – Austin, TX

T Jarrod Bonta – Austin, TX

© 2024 Saving Country Music