Vivian Leva & Riley Calcagno Ready New Self-Titled Record

Individually, Vivian Leva and Riley Calcagno are already two of the most exciting, promising, and talented up-and-comers in most all of roots music, fluidly moving through old time, bluegrass, and classic country modes with an ease of execution, and displaying a passion for the enterprise of reviving old music that is infectious with the audience. Put them together, and they’re even greater than the sum of their parts, intertwining disciplines and influences seamlessly until it comprises a roots music symphony of two.

This conjoined magic has already been on display in a number of projects, including the old time band The Onlies, who just released a new self-titled album this year (read review), and on Vivian Leva’s solo debut Time Is Everything from 2018 which Riley also had a heavy hand in (read review) . But the two will be putting their duo magic on full display on March 12, 2021 when they release a self-titled album through Free Dirt Records.

Vivian Leva is from Lexington, Virginia, and her father James is a cherished multi-instrumentalist. Her mother Carol Elizabeth recorded with Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard, and at the age of 9, Vivian Leva was already writing and performing original songs with her father in hallowed halls such as the Carter Family Fold.

Vivian embraced the heritage that surrounded her, and set to expanding the music’s legacy with her own original interpretations of timeless themes served upon ageless instrumentation, making waves locally and regionally for years at festivals such as Clifftop in West Virginia, and then nationally at places like Portland, OR’s Pickathon.

Riley Calcagno has a similar story, it just started on the other side of the continent where he began playing at a very young age in The Onlies as a musical prodigy in the Pacific Northwest. A musical virtuoso on multiple instruments with exquisite harmonies or leads at the ready, he’s able to go wherever the music takes him.

Produced by Grammy-winning Cajun roots legend Joel Savoy, Vivian Leva and Riley Calcagno looks to take the very heart of roots music and spirit it forward with adept originality. All the songs are written by the duo.

Ahead of the album, they have released a new song called “Will You.” Vivian Leva and Riley Calcagno is now available for pre-order.


1. Will You
2. Leaving On Our Minds
3. Hollowed Hearts
4. On The Line
5. Red Hen
6. Biding All My Time
7. Love and Chains
8. On Account Of You
9. My Teardrops Say
10. You Don’t See Me
11. Good and Gone

© 2024 Saving Country Music