Ward Davis Announces New Album “Black Cats and Crows”

photo: Chris Couture

The protracted wait for new music from country music singer, songwriter, guitarist and piano player Ward Davis will soon be over, as he’s announced the release of his latest record Black Cats and Crows via Thirty Tigers on November 20th. Produced by the legendary Jim “Moose” Brown, the 14-song album also includes songwriting collaborations with Cody Jinks, Kendall Marvel, and Shawn Camp.

“I could say this album took 4 years to make, which is how long it took to record, mix and master the project, but that wouldn’t be all the way true…. OR I could say this album took 16 years to make, which is the span of time between the day I wrote the oldest song, and the most recent song on the album, but that wouldn’t be the truth either…” Ward Davis says about the record.

“The truth is that this album took my whole life to make, pushing 41 years. I had to live and live and live before I even understood what these songs meant, or why I wrote them in the first place. So many of them were written with men of great perspective and empathy…about things that weren’t at all apparent to me when they were crafted, but have revealed their truths over thousands of days and nights of just being a human being, with every victory and failure being another lesson or trial, from which I’ve learned.”

A veteran songwriter who has composed tracks for the likes of Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard, Cody Jinks, and Trace Adkins in the past, it’s been Ward’s part recently in the True Grit family of artists that also includes Whitey Morgan, Sunny Sweeney, Tennessee Jet, and others that has put his personal music in the spotlight. And as an artist who is willing and able to put piano back in it’s proper place as a country music instrument, he plays an important role in saving country music.

“This record, albeit my second full length LP, is my first record. My first swing at the plate, with all my might, and eyes wide open,” Ward says. “It’s not a reflection of me, it is me, and it was made with the people who know me, and who were there for the worst days, and the best days, and the days that didn’t seem to matter at all.”

Also appearing on the record is Scott Ian of Anthrax on the murder ballad “Sounds of Chains.” But first up is the title track co-written with Cody Jinks and Tennessee Jet that has just been released to coincide with the album announcement.

Black Cats and Crows is now available for pre-order.


1. Aint Gonna Be Today
2. Black Cats and Crows
3. Threads
4. Sounds of Chains
5. Get to Work Whiskey
6. Colorado
7. Book of Matches
8. Heaven Had a Hand
9.Where I Learned to Live
10. Papa and Mama
11. Lay Down on Love
12. Nobody
13. Good to Say Goodbye
14. Good and Drunk

© 2024 Saving Country Music