Winners of the 2014 International Bluegrass Music Awards


Lee Ann Womack & Jerry Douglas

On Thursday night October 2nd, the International Bluegrass Music Association held their 25th Annual Awards ceremony in Raleigh, NC at the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts. The awards were hosted by Lee Ann Womack and Jerry Douglas, and performers included The Boxcars, Claire Lynch, The Gibson Brothers, Lee Ann Womack, Noam Pikelny, Della Mae, Jerry Douglas, The Seldom Scene with its surviving original members and new members, Blue Highway, The Del McCoury Band, Balsam Range, and Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen.

Big winners included Noam Pikelny who won both Album of the Year for Noam Pikelny Plays Kenny Baker Plays Bill Monroe, as well as Banjo Player of the Year honors, Special Consensus who won both Recorded Event of the Year and Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year, and Balsam Range who took home Entertainer of the Year, Vocal Group of the Year, and Buddy Melton of Balsam Range won Male Vocalist of the Year.

Complete List of Winners:

Entertainer of the Year – Balsam Range


Album of the Year – Noam Pikelny Plays Kenny Baker Plays Bill Monroe Noam Pikelny (artist) Gabe Witcher (producer), Compass Records

Song of the Year –Dear Sister” Claire Lynch (artist), Claire Lynch and Louisa Branscomb (writers)

Male Vocalist of the Year – Buddy Melton (Balsam Range)

Female Vocalist of the Year – Amanda Smith

Emerging Artist of the Year – Flatt Lonesome

Vocal Group of the Year  – Balsam Range

Instrumental Group of the Year – Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen


Recorded Event of the Year –Wild Montana Skies” Special Consensus with Claire Lynch & Rob Ickes (artists), Alison Brown (producer), Compass Records

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year  – “Thank God I’m A Country Boy“ – Special Consensus with Buddy Spicher, Michael Cleveland and Alison Brown (artists), Country Boy: A Bluegrass Tribute to John Denver (album), John Martin Sommers (writer), Alison Brown (producer), Compass Records

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year  –  “Won’t It Be Wonderful There” Dailey & Vincent (artist), Brothers of the Highway (album), Mildred Styles Johnson (writer), Jamie Dailey and Darrin Vincent (producers), Rounder Records

Guitar Player of the Year – Bryan Sutton


Mandolin Player of the Year – Adam Steffey (The Boxcars)

Fiddle Player of the Year – Jason Carter

Dobro Performer of the Year – Phil Leadbetter

In 2011, Phil was diagnosed with Hodgkins Lymphoma. By 2012, he was totally cured and returned to playing.


Bass Player of the Year  – Barry Bales

Banjo Player of the Year – Noam Pikelny


Hall of Fame Inductee – Dr. Neil Rosenberg

Hall of Fame Inductee – The original Seldom Scene


The Gibson Brothers performing:


© 2024 Saving Country Music