49 Winchester Announces New Album “Leavin’ This Holler”

photo: Thomas Crabtree

It’s from the hills and hollers of Appalachia that country music first came into being. And it’s from those same hills and hollers where a new generation of artists have risen to save country music in the modern era. One such outfit is named 49 Winchester after a street address in the small town of Castlewood, Virginia where singer Isaac Gibson, best friend and bassist Chase Chafin, and guitarist Bus Shelton formed the band.

Now 10 years into the game, 49 Winchester have gone from hometown heroes to one of the hottest country and roots bands spanning the globe thanks to the incredibly soulful voice of Mr. Gibson. They’ve been in Europe opening arenas for Luke Combs, in Canada touring with Corb Lund, and will be headlining the Bristol Rhythm and Roots Reunion in TN/VA where the band first found national recognition.

49 Winchester may be blowing up, but they still pride themselves in being local legends. That’s why they chose 4/9 to announce their new album Leaving This Holler out August 2nd via New West Records, and to release their new song “Yearnin’ For You.” It all coincides with Russell County, Virginia declaring April 9th “49 Winchester Day.”

“There’s been nothing in my life that’s ever lasted a decade,” Isaac Gibson says. “It’s a testament to the uncommon fact that we’re musicians from a very specific place in the world. And it’s a testament to viewing each other more as family than as friends.”

That is reflected in the music of 49 Winchester, which often evokes the love they have for their homes and the people there, facilitated in part by their relentless touring schedule that isn’t letting up at all in 2024. Their new song “Yearnin’ For You” speaks to this.

“When I wrote this song, I felt like it really encapsulated what it’s like to be a musician, and more specifically that other side of the coin that fans don’t see as often,” Gibson says. “The people you miss so badly, the sacrifice that it takes to forge out a living. I think more importantly it’s a love song. It’s about reuniting with the one that holds you down, and how great it is to finally be back where you are loved. Absence makes the heart grow fonder.”

49 Winchester is part of the exclusive field of fast-rising roots artists that are exploding in real time, including the Red Clay Strays, Wyatt Flores, Sierra Ferrell, and others. This is your last chance to get in while the gettin’s good, to see them in an intimate venue, and enjoy the ride as they secure headliner status.

Leavin’ This Holler is now available for pre-save/pre-order.

Track Listing: 

1. Favor
2. Hillbilly Happy
3. Yearnin’ For You
4. Make It Count
5. Leavin’ This Holler
6. Fast Asleep
7. Tulsa
8. Rest of My Days
9. Traveling Band
10. Anchor

© 2024 Saving Country Music