Blackberry Smoke Reveals New Album “Be Right Here” & New Song

photo: Andy Sapp

Those who are generally timid of nature, go ahead and turn back now. But for the rest of you who love their music loud and Southern, it’s time to celebrate the announcement of a brand new album from the Southern rock overlords from Georgia, Blackberry Smoke. Be Right Here is on its way, and a new song “Dig A Hole” is here right now.

Produced by Georgia-native Dave Cobb, and recorded at the historic RCA Studio ‘A’ along with Cobb’s Georgia Mae studio in Savannah, Be Right Here captures Charlie Starr (vocals, guitar), Richard Turner (bass, vocals), Brit Turner (drums), Paul Jackson (guitar, vocals) and Brandon Still (keyboards) once again, with appearances by Preston Holcomb (drums), Benji Shanks (guitar), and background vocal group The Black Bettys as well.

“We always track live together, but this time we had all our amps and drums and everything in the same room,” says frontman, guitarist, and primary songwriter Charlie Starr. “It’s just as natural and as real as possible. The last album was very raw too, but with this one I remember different times I would say, ‘I think we should redo that,’ and Dave was like, ‘No, leave it that way. That way it’s magical.’”

If there is a theme to the upcoming album, it is to “Be right here” in the moment and live life to the fullest, because you never know when it might end. You can hear this in the debut song from the album, the funky and sludgy “Dig A Hole” co-written by Charlie Starr and keyboardist Brandon Still. “We each have a finite amount of time on this earth, so you probably want to make the most of it. Eventually for all of us, they are going to dig a hole, so make it count.” 

This message especially hits home after Blackberry Smoke’s founding member, drummer, and big brother Brit Turner had a heart attack, and later a serious brain tumor issue. But he’s been battling through it all to continue to appear live with the band, not only beating out the dirty rhythms behind the kit, but inspiring everybody to “be right here” everyday instead of giving up when bad things come our way.

The only bone to pick with Be Right Here is we’ll all have to wait all the way until February 16th, 2024 before it arrives via Blackberry’s 3 Legged Records and Thirty Tigers. It’s almost like they’re trying to torture us. It’s gonna take longer to get here than Christmas, but hopefully it’s worth the wait.

Be Right Here is now available for pre-order.


1. Dig A Hole
2. Hammer And The Nail
3. Like It Was Yesterday
4. Be So Lucky
5. Azalea
6. Don’t Mind If I Do
7. Whatcha Know Good
8. Other Side of the Light
9. Little Bit Crazy
10. Barefoot Angel

© 2024 Saving Country Music