Brandy Clark Announces New Album “Your Life Is A Record”

As first reported by Saving Country Music in mid-December, Grammy nominated, CMA-winning, and well-respected and admired songwriter Brandy Clark is prepping the release of a new album called Your Life Is A Record. To be released on March 6th by Warner Bros. Records, it will be Brandy’s third studio record. Both of her previous two albums were nominated for the Grammy’s Best Country Album.

Produced by Jay Joyce, who also worked on Brandy’s 2016 release Big Day in a Small Town, the album was recorded mostly stripped-down and acoustic. Brandy Clark, Jay Joyce, Giles Reaves, and Jedd Hughes laid down the majority of the tracks together, then electric instruments were added later. The album will also feature the Memphis Strings and Horns section arranged by Lester Snell.

Brandy says the album is country, but can also live in Americana, and is much more personal than her previous works. Some of Brandy’s co-writers on the record include Jessie Jo Dillon, Shane McAnally, Chase McGill, Jesse Frasure, Clint Daniels, Jonathan Singleton, Barry Dean, and Adam Wright. Ahead of the record, Brandy Clark has released a new single, “Who You Thought I Was” (listen below), co-written with Jessie Jo Dillon and Jonathan Singleton.

“The seed of the song came from something that John Prine said a couple of years ago at the Americana Awards,” Clark explains. “He walked out onstage at the Ryman and everyone stood up and clapped for what felt like five minutes. When everyone sat down, he said with a little laugh, ‘Well, I’m John Prine, but I’d like to go back to being who you thought I was.’ Man…that hit me. The songwriter in me instantly knew it was a song and the heart in me knew it was how I had felt in my own life many times. I mean who of us hasn’t let somebody down or wanted to be the version of ourselves that someone who loved us thought we were?”

Originally from Washington State, Brandy Clark got her start as a songwriter most notably when she helped pen The Band Perry hit “Better Dig Two.” Since then she’s written or co-written critically-acclaimed songs from Kacey Musgraves, Wade Bowen, Sunny Sweeney, Miranda Lambert, Reba McEntire, and many more.

Your Life is a Record is now available for pre-order.


1. I’ll Be the Sad Song
2. Long Walk
3. Love is a Fire
4. Pawn Shop
5. Who You Thought I Was
6. Apologies
7. Bigger Boat (feat. Randy Newman)
8. Bad Car
9. Who Broke Whose Heart
10. Can We Be Strangers
11. The Past is the Past

© 2020 Saving Country Music