Cody Jinks Is Ready to “Change The Game”

Cody Jinks is already ensconced as one of the top headliners in independent country music, and has been for many years now. Consistency has been one of his calling cards, putting together solid shows, and putting out quality records. You can count on Cody Jinks. But when you’ve climbed to the top of the mountain, what comes next? How do you keep things fresh and moving forward?

The announcement of his new album Change The Game comes at a time of transition for Cody Jinks. He recently parted from his long-time manager, and is now self-managing his own career. Instead of saddling up with some major label or even big independent, he’s releasing albums on his own Late August Records in partnership with distribution service The Orchard. Jinks is going more independent, bringing things more in-house, and calling his own shots more than ever before.

To be released on March 22nd, Change The Game was produced by Ryan Hewitt, who is known for working with the Turnpike Troubadours, American Aquarium, and on Cody’s 2016 album I’m Not the Devil. Cody’s long time bass player Joshua Thompson also co-produces. This time Cody chose to forgo The Sonic Ranch recording studio in West Texas where he cut many of his recent albums, and instead recorded at the MOXE outside of Nashville.

“This is the most open and honest record I’ve ever recorded, I laid everything out,” Jinks says about the album. You hear this in his vulnerable and honest new track, “Sober Thing” (listen below), shirking the “Outlaw” country stereotype. This joins the certified banger “Mustangs and Outlaws” released in October from the album.

“I wrote ‘Sober Thing’ right after we finished the ‘Mercy’ album,” Cody Jinks says about the solo-written tune. “I was giving up a twenty plus year affair with whiskey and every word of that song is true. I don’t remember writing some of my biggest songs but I damn sure remember writing that one.”

Jinks also includes a cover version of Faith No More’s “Take This Bottle” on the new album featuring solo artist Pearl Aday, known for collaborating with many rock artists, including her father Meat Loaf.

Joining Cody Jinks on the recording sessions for Change The Game are his Tonedeaf Hippies of Chris Claridy (acoustic guitar, electric guitar), David Colvin (drums, percussion), Drew Harakal (B3, piano, acoustic guitar, electric guitar), Jake Lentner (acoustic guitar, electric guitar), Joshua Thompson (bass) and Austin “Hotrod” Tripp (pedal steel, dobro).

Change The Game is now available for pre-save/pre-order.


1. Sober Thing
2. Outlaws and Mustangs
3. I Can’t Complain
4. Take This Bottle feat. Pearl Aday
5. Deceiver’s Blues
6. A Few More Ghosts
7. Change The Game
8. I Would
9. The Working Man
10. Wasted
11. Always Running
12. What You Love

© 2023 Saving Country Music