Cody Jinks, Travis Tritt & More Join Clint Black on “This Old House”

photo: Kevin Mazur

On August 2nd, country fans received a treat they weren’t expecting when a song called “This Old House” appeared via streaming services led by country music legend Clint Black. A tribute to the Grand Ole Opry, it featured Clint leading Travis Tritt, Cody Jinks, Sara Evans, Trace Adkins, Dierks Bentley, Michael Ray, Darius Rucker, and Steve Wariner singing their appreciation for country music’s most storied institution.

The song was an especially big honor for Cody Jinks to be considered in such company. That’s also why it was a shame that the song disappeared all of a sudden just a strangely as it arrived. That didn’t keep Clint Black—a long-time Opry member—from inviting Cody Jinks onto the Opry to make his debut on August 28th.

Now “This Old House” has been released again, and for good. Appearing ahead of a new live album from Clint called Still Killin’ Time due out November 8th, it’s one of two studio songs on the new record that were originally written for Clint’s landmark 1989 album Killin’ Time. The debut record ended up going triple platinum, and launched the two biggest songs in all of country in 1989 and 1990—“A Better Man” and “Nobody’s Home” respectively.

“Hayden [Nicholas] and I originally wrote this song for ‘Killin’ Time.’ 30 years & 8 special guests later, I am so proud of what we created to honor the Grand Ole Opry, and some of the proceeds will go to the Opry Trust Fund!” says Clint Black. “I’ve toyed with the idea of a live album for years. If ever there was a time for a ‘snapshot’ of our live performances, it would be the 30th anniversary of my first album release. To bring more nostalgia to the project, I dug up two songs we never recorded that were ‘in the stack’ of songs we wrote for ‘Killin’ Time.'”

The Opry Trust Fund began in 1965 with a mission to help those in the country music industry by offering financial assistance during a time of extraordinary need. This includes individuals who are or have been employed full time in a facet of the country music industry, i.e. performers, songwriters, publishers, radio personalities, and session musicians. The fund pays for medical bills, living expenses, utilities, and rent or mortgage.

Clint Black’s Still Killin’ Time will not include the same track list of Killin’ Time, but a more expansive look at his greatest hits along with the two new songs. There’s also a video that accompanies “This Ole House” that incorporates archival footage from the Opry.

“Filming the This Old House music video at the Grand Ole Opry was such a special experience and it’s such an honor to have so many great artists on this record,” says Clint Black. “The willingness of the Opry to open its archives and its doors to me for the making of the video is more than I could’ve dreamed … I am so honored to be a member of the Grand Ole Opry and honor our country music home with ‘This Old House.'”

Cody Jinks says of the video and song, “I’ve been waiting for this to be released. What an honor to be asked by Clint Black to be a part of this song. The attention to detail in the video is nothing less than impressive. Watch two or three times to catch everything.”

Clint Black’s Still Killing Time Track List:

1. This Old House
2. No One Here For Me
3. Killin’ Time (Live)
4. A Better Man (Live)
5. Walkin’ Away (Live)
6. Summer’s Comin’ (Live)
7. Tuckered Out (Live)
8. A Good Run of Bad Luck (Live)
9. Like the Rain (Live)
10. Nothin’ but the Taillights (Live)

© 2022 Saving Country Music