Curb to Release ‘Long Gone Daddy’ from Hank Williams III

As first reported here on Saving Country Music, Curb Records is releasing a new album from Hank Williams III that includes outtakes from his first two solo albums, Risin’ Outlaw from 1999, and Lovesick, Broke & Driftin’ from 2002. The album has now been made available for pre-order through Amazon and is entitled Long Gone Daddy. It will be released on April 17th, 2012.

Hank3 entered into a 6 album contract with Curb in the late 90”²s after a child custody suit and a judge forced him to get a “real job”. Curb was able to stretch Hank3”²s album count to 7 by releasing Hillbilly Joker last year, a “hellbilly” album Curb initially rejected, but released after Hank3 had fulfilled his contract at the end of 2010. Long Gone Daddy will bring the total to 8 albums Curb squeezed out of the 6 album contract.

The title track is likely the version of the original Hank Williams song that first appeared on the Hank Williams Timeless tribute album put out by Lost Highway Records in 2001. The original “If The Shoe Fits” appeared on Hank3’s first solo album Risin’ Outlaw, and “The Sun Comes Up” was a standard of Hank3’s early live sets and appeared on a Live From Scotland bootleg that was recorded by the BBC. “‘Neath a Cold Grey Tomb of Stone” is likely another re-purposed track from the very first album Hank III appeared on from Curb called Three Hanks. “This Ain’t Montgomery” includes Alabama recording artist Joey Allcorn.

This newest album will again leave Hank3 fans conflicted if they should respect an ongoing Curb Records boycott that has now stretched to fans of Tim McGraw, who along with many other artists, has had their issues with Curb, or purchase the new material from one of their favorite artists. Hank3 suggested that fans steal, copy, and bootleg Hillbilly Joker, which had already been in circulation as a bootleg years before Curb released it, but that did not stop the album from charting in the top 10 on Billboard. And unlike Hillbilly Joker, this Long Gone Daddy album includes some material never heard by the public before.

Track List:

1. I m A Long Gone Daddy
2. Sun Comes Up
3. The Bottle Let Me Down
4. Wreck Of The Old 97
5. Neath A Cold Grey Tomb Of Stone
6. The Wind Blew Cold
7. Good Hearted Woman
8. This Ain t Montgomery – w/ Joey Allcorn
9. What They Want Me To Be
10. If The Shoe Fits – Shuffle Mix
© 2023 Saving Country Music