Flatland Cavalry Partners with Interscope, Readies New Album

photo: Nando Media

Flatland Cavalry is the latest independent country band from Texas to partner with a major label, and is readying the release of their new album called Wandering Star out October 27th. On top of this, they’ve just released a new song called “Mornings With You” featuring front man Cleton Coredro’s wife and fellow performer Katilin Butts.

The deal with Interscope is similar to the ones we’ve seen with RCA and Tyler Childers, RCA and Colter Wall, as well as Zach Bryan and Warner. Though Flatland Cavalry will have the muscle of a major label behind them, they also still own their copyrights and have autonomous creative freedom. The success these independent artists continue to find allows them to sign these deals on their terms.

Meanwhile, it’s the music itself that most fans are excited about. Wandering Star includes 13 tracks, and along with Cleto Cordero, features the current lineup of Flatland Cavalry that includes Jonathan Saenz on bass and background vocals, Reid Dillon on electric guitar, Wesley Hall on fiddle, Jason Albers on drums, and Adam Gallegos who plays piano, organ, keys, mandolin, banjo, acoustic guitar, Wurlitzer, and Mellotron on the album.

“Historically, all our albums have been named after a lyric that seems to most encapsulate the spirit and ethos of the project,” says Cleto Cordero. “Late one evening from my office in Nashville came the inspiration to name this record. My wife, who is from Oklahoma, acquired a piece of embroidered folk art which hangs on the wall of my office of a native man posed with Eagle wings. The art piece is untitled, but I imagined the subject being named ‘Dancing Eagle.’ Then I imagined ‘what would be my name if it were given to me in the same spirit?’… and the two words ‘Wandering Star’ floated to the surface.”

“Wandering star” also happens to be a lyric from one of the new songs called “Spinnin’.” Though originally from West Texas, Cordero has been living in Nashville lately in between the band’s regular tours, including opening for Luke Combs. “[It] felt right as we have been wandering around all of creation the last ten years, truth-seeking and dream-chasing; aiming for the moon and at last it seems we’ve found ourselves finally floating amongst the stars.” 

Though they’re now signed to a big label and finding big opportunities, don’t expect a different Flatland Cavalry. The album was produced by Dwight A. Baker, known for working with other Texas music folks like the Josh Abbott Band. Previously the have released two songs from the album, “Last American Summer” and “Oughta See You (The Way I Do),” and release the song/video “Mornings With You” to coincide with the album announcement.

“Last June, I got to write with a couple great songwriters in town, Ashley Monroe and Nick Walsh,” says Cordero. “The three of us got along effortlessly—I think our collective experiences with the strenuous journey that is dream-chasing and being highwaymen (and women) lent towards us writing a song that is the antithesis of the hustle and bustle of living the Night Life; a song about the beauty of cherishing the start of a new day, basking in the peace and stillness, with the one you love most.”

Wandering Star is now available for pre-order/pre-save.


1. The Provider
2. The Best Days
3. Only Thing At All
4. Last American Summer
5. Mornings With You (feat. Kaitlin Butts)
6. Let It Roll
7. Spinnin’
8. Don’t Have To Do This Like That
9. New American Dream
10. Oughta See You (The Way I Do)
11. A Thousand Miles An Hour
12. Burned Out Flame
13. Forgotten

© 2024 Saving Country Music