Independent Music Awards Announces 12th Annual Nominees (& Winners)

independent-music-awardsThe Independent Music Awards has announced their 12th Annual nominations, and it includes many great names from the independent country/roots world like Rachel Brooke, The Boomswagglers, Lucky Tubb, The Steel Wheels, Tom VandenAvond, JP Harris, Langhorn Slim, and The Carper Family just to name a few.

Celebrating the democracy of creativity and meritocracy of talent, The Independent Music Awards honor exceptional independent artists traditionally ignored by mainstream media and big box retailers. For the past 12 years, artists and labels from around the world have found new fans and prominence through The Independent Music Awards. Winners will be determined by a panel of judges that include varying talent from the independent music world, including Tom Waits, Del McCoury, Jim Lauderdale, Brandi Carlisle, “Weird Al” Yankovic, and Kevin Lyman from the Van’s Warped Tour. Fans can also register to vote.

The Independent Music Awards nominate albums and songs from nearly every genre of music and include many international artists. Here are the nominees most relevant to the Saving Country Music world. Who would you vote for?

Album Nominees

Alt. Country Jason McNiff April Cruel
Kids From Nowhere Kick It In
Langhorne Slim & The Law* The Way We Move
Mama Rosin Bye Bye Bayou
The Great Unknowns Homefront
Americana Deanna Cartea Open Road
Evie Ladin Band Evie Ladin Band
The Steel Wheels* Lay Down, Lay Low
Tom VandenAvond Wreck of a Fine Man
Bluegrass Collin Ingram Pavement Ends
Stephen Wade Banjo Diary: Lessons from Tradition
The Dust Busters with John Cohen* Old Man Below
Blues Little Freddie King Chasing tha Blues
Rachel Brooke* A Killer’s Dream
Soulstack Big Red
Teresa James & The Rhythm Tramps Come On Home
Tom Feldmann Lone Wolf Blues


Country JP Harris and The Tough Choices I’ll Keep Calling
Julianne Ankley Vivid
Katie Quick Valley Between Love
LiveWire Livin’
Whisky Row Whisky Row


Song Nominees


Alt. Country Bronwen Exter Poor Quentin
Langhorne Slim & The Law* The Way We Move
Lucky Tubb & The Modern Day Troubadours Heard Your Name
The Boomswagglers Run You Down
Tom Freund Cruel Cruel World
Americana Ana Egge Hole in Your Halo
Lily & The Parlour Tricks Darwin Song
Suzie Brown* I’ll Be Gone
The Carper Family Cold, Dark, and Lonely
The Western Swing Authority I’ve Got a Feelin’
Bluegrass Beef Tea Bring Me Along
Mark Linford, Denny Johnston & The Buckeye Bluegrass Band It’s Okay To Pick It
Matt Harlan Darker Shade of Grey
The Dust Busters with John Cohen* Because He Loved Her So
Truman’s Ridge Heather’s Gate
Blues Amanda Broadway Somethin’ Funny Goin’ On
Fife & Drom Wicked Tongue
Fiona Boyes Baptized in Muddy’s Sweat
Root Doctor Featuring Freddie Cunningham The Message
Son Roberts Brakeman


Country Bryen Willems Hello Beer
James Meadows Somebody Up There Likes Me
Kelsey Country Mess
Rachel Potter The Verdict
Shari Rowe Silly Boy
The Rob Ryan Roadshow Good For Nothing

(6/13/13) UPDATE:

The winners for the 12th annual Independent Music Awards have been announced! See complete list of winners.

Best Albums



Best Songs



© 2023 Saving Country Music