Jason Eady Announces New Album “To The Passage of Time”

The singing Texas troubadour, and the Godfather of the Sequestered Songwriters Jason Eady will be back with his eighth studio album on August 27th called To The Passage of Time. Featuring Geoff Queen on steel and dobro, Noah Jeffries on mandolin and fiddle, Brian Ferguson on drums, Mark Williams on bass and cello, and harmony vocals by Courtney Patton and Jamie Lin Wilson, To The Passage of Time was produced by Jason Eady’s longtime friend Gordy Quist of Band of Heathens.

“I sort of handpicked the band from all my favorite players around Austin that I’ve met over the years. Everything you hear is exactly what happened when we hit record—there’s no studio trickery,” says Eady. “It’s got a real family-band feeling to it, where everyone in the room knew how to play in a way that completely fits with what I do.”

Jason Eady wrote the entirety of the 10-song album over a 3-day burst of creativity where he locked himself in his bedroom and didn’t emerge until he was completely spent. “I went in thinking I was going to write just one song—but then the songs kept coming, and I didn’t want to break the spell,” Eady says. “I’d go to sleep with the guitar by the bed, pick it back up when I woke up the next morning, and do it all again. I’d never really experienced anything like that before.”

Originally from Mississippi but calling Texas home for some 20 years, Jason Eady has become one of the patron saints of songwriting in the Texas and Red Dirt scenes, and one of the principal members of the Sequestered Songwriters series commencing most Mondays during the quarantine, paying tribute to past musical great in country music and beyond.

“Even back in my early days of getting into music, I always cared more about the writers than the singers,” says Eady. “I’d look up who’d written a certain song, and then go seek out more songs from that writer.” Now Jason Eady is one of the guys younger songwriters look up to for inspiration.

Jason Eady released the first song from the album “Back to Normal” in March, and has now released a second song called “My Best Friend” (listen below).

To the Passage of Time Tracklist:
01) Nothing On You
02) These Things
03) The Luxury of Dreaming
04) Back To Normal
05) Possibilities 
06) French Summer Sun
07) Gainesville
08) Saturday Night
09) My Best Friend
10) To the Passage of Time

Tour Dates:
5/19: Charlotte, NC – The Evening Muse ^ 
5/20: Greenville, SC – The Radio Room ^
5/21: Asheville, NC – Isis Music Hall ^
5/22: Birmingham, AL – Zydeco ^
5/23: Mobile, AL – The Peoples Room of Mobile
5/26: Abilene, TX – Lytle Land & Cattle
5/29: New Braunfels, TX – Gruene Cottages
6/3: Spring, TX – Dosey Doe #
6/4: Dallas, TX – Poor David’s Pub
6/5: Grant, TX – Food Truck Championship #^
6/5: West, TX – West Street Dance *
6/6: Fort Worth, TX – The Post at River East
6/11: Hunt, TX – The Hunt Store
6/16: Riverton, IL – The Backroom Lounge
6/17: Yorkville, IL – Law Office Pub & Music Hall
6/18: Freeport, IL – The Wagner House
6/19: Belleville, IL – Eckert ’s Country Store ^
6/20: Harrisburg, IL – Morello’s Restaurant
6/27-7/1: Cabo San Lucas – Big Cabo Fest #
8/6: Saint Jo, TX – Red River Station #
8/14: Denver, CO – Larimer lounge
8/15: Cheyenne, WY – Terry Bison Ranch 
8/18: Bozeman, MT – Live from the Divide
8/19: Stanley, ID – Mountain Village
8/20: Boise, ID – Neurolux
8/22: Republic, WA – Republic Brewing Company
8/26: Houston, TX – McGonigel’s Mucky Duck
8/27: Austin, TX – Saxon Pub 
8/28: Fort Worth, TX – Tulips FTW
8/29: New Braunfels, TX – The Redbird Listening Room
9/3: Manitou Springs, CO – Lulu’s Downstairs
9/4: Greeley, CO – Moxi Theater
9/9: Tahlequah, OK – Diamondhead Resort
9/10: Kansas City, MO – Knucklehead’s Saloon #
9/15: Decatur, GA – Eddie’s Attic
9/17: Newport, KY – Southgate House
9/18: Eldorado, IL – Eldorado Town & Country Days+
9/27-10/2: Galveston, TX – Rock the Coast #

# – with Courtney Patton
^ – with Adam Hood
+ – with Asleep at the Wheel
*  – Full Band Show

© 2024 Saving Country Music