JP Harris Signs to Bloodshot, Readies New “Trash Fire” Album

It’s been nearly six years … or how JP Harris counts it off, “6/10ths of a decade, 1/7th of my lifetime, 36 dog years…” since he released his last original studio album, 2018’s Sometimes Dogs Bark at Nothing. But now the carpenter/contractor, old-time banjo enthusiast, and sometimes full-time touring musician is officially back, releasing a couple of new songs, and announcing the release of his latest album JP Harris is a Trash Fire.

To be released on September 20th, it comes via the newly-revamped Bloodshot Records, and will be JP’s first release through the label. It was produced by rock ‘n roll throwback artist JD McPherson between his tour duties with Robert Plant, engineered by Andrija Tokic, and features vocal contributions from Erin Rae, The Watson Twins, and Shovels & Rope.

“My very dear buddy JD McPherson flattered the britches pert’ near clean off me when he asked if he could produce a record for me a handful of years back,” says Harris. “We hemmed and hawed many a month respectively, and at last agreed to spend the last six days of my thirties getting the damn thing done. Over the course of eight months, we chipped and chiseled at the hard rock of songs I’d brought in, ‘til we could call it some semblance of a country gem. I reckon it came out pretty not bad.”

Though it’s been a long time between releases, it’s not like JP Harris hasn’t been around. He’s one of the most respected musicians in east Nashville who’s always making moves and connections for others. He’s appeared at the Newport Folk Festival multiple times in the last few years. He showed up to tribute Luke Bell at the Americana Music Awards a couple of years ago.

In 2021, JP Harris released a very traditional, old-time album of banjo music called Don’t You Marry No Railroad Man in collaboration with former Old Crow Medicine Show member Chance McCoy, who also used to run with Harris back in his old-time days. But now it’s time to get back to honky tonkin’ for Harris, which you can hear in his new song “Old Fox” (listen below).

“I appreciate y’all not forgetting me, I appreciate my new friends at Bloodshot, and I appreciate country music,” he says.

JP Harris is a Trash Fire is now available for pre-save and pre-order.


1. Old Fox
2. To The Doves
3. East Alabama
4. Dark Thoughts
5. Charms & Letters
6. Trash Fire
7. Barbra Dee
8. Long In The Tooth
9. Write It All Down
10. Beautiful World

© 2024 Saving Country Music