Kelsey Waldon Readies New Album “No Regular Dog”

photo: Alysse Gafkjen

Part of both the insurgent country music movement, and the groundswell of Kentucky songwriters reshaping the modern country landscape, Kelsey Waldon from Monkey’s Eyebrow, KY is getting ready to release her latest record called No Regular Dog through Oh Boy Records on August 12th.

“I hope that these songs are able to live with people and help make the world a little better, because I think that’s a big part of what my job is,” says Waldon. “At the end of the day, I’m so thankful for my passion for music because it’s sustained me throughout my whole life, and now I want it to do the same for other people. And if anyone’s struggling, I hope they can recognize the ‘No Regular Dog’ within themselves, and start to see how much they’re really worth.” 

Produced by Shooter Jennings, and recorded in Los Angeles, the album is said to include some of Waldon’s most personal songs to date, and believe it or not, the first love song she’s written called “Simple As Love,” as well as a tribute to John Prine called “Season’s Ending.”

Joining her in the studio was her road band of drummer Nate Felty, bass player Alec Newnam, and “Smokin'” Brett Resnick when Kacey Musgraves doesn’t snatch him up. Additional instrumentation is supplied by Doug Pettibone on dobro and guitar, and fiddle player Aubrey Richmond from Shooter’s band.

“Kelsey Waldon is a top shelf artist who feels a deep responsibility to country music, the preservation of its history, and the quality of its future,” says Shooter Jennings. “I would say country music is in good hands.”

Those are the kind of assurances you want to hear about your favorite country artists, and Kelsey Waldon backs this up with the debut song from the album called “Sweet Little Girl.” “[It’s] in part about me, but perhaps it’s also about you,” Waldon says of the song. “It’s about the rage and unrest inside during a process to find healing. It’s simply just about a gal who is trying to find her way back ‘home.’”

Kelsey Waldon is heading to Europe this June with many of the others on the Oh Boy Records roster for a tour, and is also playing the Laurel Cove Music Festival in Pineville, Kentucky on June 11th, and the Jackalope Jamboree in Pendleton, OR on June 25th.

No Regular Dog is now available for pre-order.


1. No Regular Dog
2. Sweet Little Girl
3. Tall and Mighty
4. You Can’t Ever Tell
5. Season’s Ending
6. History Repeats Itself
7. Backwater Blues
8. Simple as Love
9. Peace Alone (Reap What You Sow)
10. Progress Again
11. The Dog (Outro)

© 2023 Saving Country Music