New Additions to Saving Country Music’s Spotify Playlist (Update #8)


The Saving Country Music Official Top 25 Spotify Playlist has been reinforced for your post-Labor Day listening and beyond with a slew of new tracks that deserve to be separated from the herd and have a spotlight shone on them for their songwriting and compositional exceptionalism.

These songs include “Don’t Look At Me” from the singing duo Porter Union, revitalizing the lost art of the male/female country duet. 2nd generation performer Lukas Nelson and his band Promise of the Real dazzle with the new song “Just Outside of Austin” from their recently-released self-titled record. Though Lukas doesn’t exclusively adhere to the country genre in his music or on the new album, “Just Outside of Austin” exemplifies how when he chooses to take after his old man, he can astound.

Alice Wallace astounds herself with a yodel-enhanced new song “Echo Canyon” recently released as a single. Any time the Turnpike Troubadours release a song it’s worth paying attention, and they evoke the name of a familiar character named Lorrie in their new song “The Housefire.” And as a curve ball comes the fun song from South City Revival called “It’s Alright.”

If you don’t do the Spotify thing, you can always find a list of the songs, albums, and artists below to venture further in discovering some new music via SCM’s top current recommendations.

CLICK HERE to Follow Saving Country Music on Spotify, and/or follow the Spotify Top 25 Playlist.

Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist

  1.  “Way Down in My Soul” – Zephaniah Ohora – This Highway
  2. “Don’t Look At Me” – Porter Union – Porter Union
  3. “Just Outside of Austin” – Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real – Self-Titled
  4. “Independent Trucker” – The Sons of the Palomino – Sons of the Palomino
  5. “Slow Down Easy” – John Moreland – Big Bad Luv
  6. “16-10” – Joseph Huber – The Suffering Stage
  7. “Say It To Me” – Sam Outlaw – Tenderheart
  8. “If We Were Vampires” – Jason Isbell – The Nashville Sound
  9. “Large Hall, Slow Decay” – Haley Thompson-King – Psychotic Melancholia
  10.  “I Can’t Breathe” – Parker McCollum – Probably Wrong: Session One EP
  11. “Texas Jesus” – Robyn Ludwick – This Tall to Ride
  12. “Cairo, IL” – The Brother Brothers – Tugboats – EP
  13. “It’s Alright” – South City Revival – South City Revival
  14. “Giving Back The Best of Me” – Jaime Wyatt – Felony Blues
  15. “Bang Bang” – Sarah Jane Scouten – When The Bloom Falls From The Rose
  16. “Tears Don’t Stain” – The Country Side of Harmonica Sam – A Drink After Midnight
  17. “The Housefire” – Turnpike Troubadours – A Long Way From Your Heart
  18. “I’d Sing About You” – Joe Nichols – Never Gets Old
  19. “Old Stone Church” – John Baumann – Proving Grounds
  20. “Kate McCannon” – Colter Wall – Colter Wall
  21. “Keep The Home Fires Burnin’” – Sarah Shook & The Disarmers – Sidelong
  22. “Whitehouse Road” – Tyler Childers – Purgatory
  23. “Echo Canyon” – Alice Wallace – (single)
  24. “Fleshy Hands” – Skunk Ruckus – Pearls Before Swine
  25. “Broken Halos” – Chris Stapleton – From A Room: Vol. 1
© 2023 Saving Country Music