Newest Adds to Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist (#106)

The Saving Country Music Top 25 Playlist is built to keep you informed on all the best songs and albums coming out right here, right now in country and roots music. It’s available on most all streaming formats (see below), or you can just use the song, artist, and album recommendations to find something new to listen to. New songs just added.

Newest Additions:

Bella White – “The Way I Oughta Go” – Bella White blew a lot of folks away with her debut album Just Like Leaving, which ultimately got picked up by Rounder Records and re-released. Now she’s back with a new song that carries a bit more of a honky tonk feel to it compared to her more understated and acoustic sound. “The Way I Oughta Go” definitely gets you excited for what Bella White has in store for the future.

Jonathan Terrell – “Texas” – This east Texas poet turns in a doozy of a neotraditional trip back to the Golden Era of country music with an exploratory journey deep into the heart of Texas mythology. A great tune from Terrell’s A Couple, 2, 3, EP coming out September 9th.

Sunny Sweeney feat. Vince Gill – “Married Alone” – Before we even heard a peep of this title track from Sunny Sweeney’s new album out September 23rd, we knew it was going to be a heartbreaker like only Sunny Sweeney can deliver. It’s the kind of killer country song you can build an album around. Adding Vince Gill to the mix just legitimizes it even more. This is the 2nd Vince Gill appearance on the playlist; he also sings on Wade Bowen’s “A Guitar, a Singer, and a Song.” “Married Alone” is written by Hannah Blaylock, Josh Morningstar, and Autumn McEntire.

Parker McCollum – “Handle On You” – This is the version of Parker McCollum that we need Parker McCollum to be: pragmatic by releasing something radio will play, but without sacrificing the quality songwriting indicative of his early career, or the steel guitar the blends with his music so well. “Handle On You” is already shooting up the charts, but is worthy of inclusion here too to highlight how mainstream country doesn’t always have to be bad.

Kelsey Waldon – “Tall and Mighty” – Being brutally honest about her bouts of indecision and self-doubt, but chasing it all with a sense of gratefulness is what has earned Kelsey Waldon’s new album No Regular Dog high praise, along with the smooth sound orchestrated by producer Shooter Jennings. All of this is in top form on the song “Tall and Mighty.”

Cahalen Morrison – “Dark and Dreary World” – Recorded in an old adobe chapel in the remote village of Jaroso near the Colorado/New Mexico border, “Dark and Dreary World” dispels any notion that you need a collaboration of instruments and fancy production to capture audio magic. This timeless original a capella song comes from Cahalen Morrison’s recent release, Wealth of Sorrow.

Hellbound Glory – “Can’t Wait to Never See You Again” – From the most underrated songwriter in country music, “Can’t Wait to Never See You Again” features Leroy Virgil’s always incisive writing, though enveloped in a more traditional country approach than normal, with fiddle finding its place high in the mix, and a burst of harmonies embellishing the chorus. From the upcoming Shooter Jennings-produced album The Immortal Hellbound Glory: Nobody Knows You out September 30th.

Alex Key – “Turn Anywhere into a Honky Tonk” – A real country honky tonker from North Carolina, Alex Key has been flying scandalously under-the-radar, but has a lot of folks singing his praises after the release of his new album Neon Signs and Stained Glass.

– – – – – – – – – –

The Saving Country Music Top 25 Playlist primarily lives on Spotify, but is also available for those who use Amazon Music, YouTube, Apple Music, and Tidal. For those who don’t stream music, you can still find the song recommendations in list form below.

CLICK HERE to follow Saving Country Music on Spotify, and/or follow the Spotify Top 25 Playlist.

Please Note: The songs on this playlist are curated for listening pleasure and flow. Otherwise, they are not in any specific order.

Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist:

  • “Where I Went Wrong”The Broken Spokes – Where I Went Wrong
  • “Years” – Sierra Ferrell – Something Borrowed, Something New: A Tribute to John Anderson
  • “My Grass Is Blue” – Kimmi Bitter – (single)
  • “Turn Anywhere into a Honky Tonk” – Alex Key – Neon Signs and Stained Glass
  • “The Way I Oughta Go” – Bella White – (single)
  • “Can’t Wait to Never See You Again” – Hellbound Glory – The Immortal Hellbound Glory: Nobody Knows You (9-30)
  • “Honky Tonk Town” – Kimberly Kelly – I’ll Tell You What’s Gonna Happen
  • “Texas” – Jonathan Terrell – A Couple, 2, 3, EP (9-9)
  • “Trouble With A Hammer” – Conrad Fisher – (single)
  • “Married Alone” – Sunny Sweeney w/ Vince Gill – Married Alone (9-23)
  • “Vanlife” – Willi Carlisle – Peculiar, Missouri
  • “Weatherman” – Matt Daniel – All I’ll Ever Need
  • “A Guitar, A Singer, and A Song” – Wade Bowen w/ Vince Gill – Somewhere Between The Secret and The Truth (8-12)
  • “Always The Outsider” – Stacy Antonel – Always The Outsider
  • “Back Home” – Arlo McKinley w/ Logan Halstead – This Mess We’re In
  • “Russell County Line” – 49 Winchester – Fortune Favors The Bold
  • “Tall and Mighty” – Kelsey Waldon – No Regular Dog
  • “Common Law” – Zoe Cummins, Gabe Lee – (single)
  • “Son of Appalachia” – Tim Goodin – Son of Appalachia EP
  • “All I Hear You Say” – The Broken Spokes – Where I Went Wrong
  • “Dark and Dreary World” – Cahalen Morrison – Wealth of Sorrow
  • “Bourbon Whiskey” – William Beckmann – Faded Memories
  • “Oklahoma Smokeshow” – Zach Bryan – Summertime Blues
  • “Waking Up The Echoes” – American Aquarium – Chicamacomico
  • “Harder Stuff” – Adam Hood, Miranda Lambert – Bad Days Better (9-16)
  • “Handle On You” – Parker McCollum – (single)
© 2023 Saving Country Music