Newest Adds to Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist (#116)

The Saving Country Music Top 25 Playlist is built to keep you informed on all the best songs and albums coming out right here, right now in country and roots music. It’s available on most all streaming formats (see below), or you can just use the song, artist, and album recommendations to find something new to listen to. New songs just added.

Newest Additions:

Malpass Brothers – “Sleep When The Party’s Over” – When you talk about young guys with old souls making country music the way it’s supposed to be made, put the Malpass Brothers at or near the top of the heap. These guys have been around for years, but their recorded output is scant. They’ll add a new entry to their catalog on May 12th when Lonely Street comes out. And if the album is anything like the lead single “Sleep When The Party’s Over, we have a lot to look forward to.

Sunny Sweeney and Jamie Lin Wilson w/ Emmylou Harris – “Red Dirt Girl” – Both Sunny Sweeney and Jamie Lin Wilson grew up as Red Dirt girls and now are two of the top Red Dirt women. All the more fitting they should cover Emmylou Harris’s “Red Dirt Girl” from her album Hickory Wind. Even better, Emmylou Harris sings harmony on the song, making it not just a cool track, but a career moment for Sunny and Jamie Lin.

Aaron McDonnell – “You Drive Back” – Aaron McDonnell won a lot of folks over with his darkish take on country music via his 2022 album Too Many Days Like Saturday Night. Now he’s back with more of the same with the new single “You Drive Back,” which hopefully is just the first taste of more of this immersive style of country.

Rob Ickes and Trey Hensley – “Moonshine Run” – This award-winning bluegrass duo hauled off and made themselves a more country-inspired album called Living In A Song. The super fun “Moonshine Run” is a good example of what can happen when you mix country storytelling with bluegrass instrumental expertise.

The War and Treaty – “Yesterday’s Burn” – When the singing duo debuted this song on The Grand Ole Opry, it went viral. Now the studio version is one of the crown jewels from their new album Lover’s Game produced by Dave Cobb. Though they’re known more for country-infused soul, this waltz is much more soul-infused country.

Sam Munsick – “Old Montana” – From the Munsick family of performers, Sam has really done right with the Western style of songwriting on his new album Johnny Faraway, offering up nine new original tracks that give new blood to the Western catalog. “Old Montana” kicks it up a notch almost into the Western rock territory, not dissimilar to Chris LeDoux.

– – – – – – – – – –

The Saving Country Music Top 25 Playlist primarily lives on Spotify, but is also available for those who use Amazon Music, YouTubeApple Music, and Tidal. For those who don’t stream music, you can still find the song recommendations in list form below.

CLICK HERE to follow Saving Country Music on Spotify, and/or follow the Spotify Top 25 Playlist.

Please Note: The songs on this playlist are curated for listening pleasure and flow. Otherwise, they are not in any specific order.

Saving Country Music’s Top 25 Current Playlist:

  • “Easier and Harder” – William Prince – Stand In The Joy (4-21)
  • “Sleep When The Party’s Over” – Malpass Brothers – Lonely Street (5-12)
  • “If You Don’t Wanna Love Me” – Brit Taylor – Kentucky Blue 
  • “Wildwood Baby” – Gloria Anderson – Households EP (3-24)
  • “Forever’s Not As Long As It Used To Be” – Shefton Kash – (single)
  • “Old Montana” – Sam Munsick – Johnny Faraway
  • “Yesterday’s Burn” – The War and Treaty – Lover’s Game
  • “Moonshine Run” – Rob Ickes and Trey Hensley – Living In A Song
  • “Moving Mountains” – Amanda Fields w/ Megan McCormick – What, When, and Without (2-28)
  • “Western White Pines” – Colby Acuff – (single)
  • “The Jealous Kind” – Charles Wesley Godwin – Live from the Church EP
  • “Jersey Giant” – Elle King – Come Get Your Wife
  • “.38 Special” – Rattlesnake Milk – Chicken Fried Snake
  • “For Your Love” – Michael Cleveland with Billy Strings – Lovin’ Of The Game 
  • “Above My Head” – Drayton Farley – Twenty on High
  • “Going Back” – Zara Alexandra – Osage Oranges Coming Down
  • “Bad Imagination” – Sundy Best – Feel Good Country
  • “Rosemary” – SJ McDonald – (single)
  • “You Drive Back” – Aaron McDonnell – (single)
  • “Wrong Side of the River” – Myron Elkins – Factories, Farms, and Amphetamines
  • “Holler Rose” – Pony Bradshaw – North Georgia Rounder
  • “Red Dirt Girl” – Sunny Sweeney, Jamie Lin Wilson, Emmylou Harris – (single)
  • “Denial” – Jonathan Peyton – (single)
  • “Back to the Holler” – Dirty Grass Soul – (single)
  • “Moved Into A Bottle” – The Broken Spokes – (single)
  • “Dire Wolf” – Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway – Crooked Tree (Deluxe Edition)
© 2024 Saving Country Music