Sierra Ferrell Announces New Album “Trail of Flowers”

artwork: Bobbi Rich

Saving Country Music’s reigning Artist of the Year Sierra Ferrell has finally divulged the details for what will be one of the most anticipated releases of 2024. Arriving on March 22nd via Rounder Records, her latest album will be called Trail of Flowers, and will find the West Virginia songwriter and superlative live performer taking listeners on a fantastic journey through the familiar and surreal as she takes Appalachian music and instills it with a thrust of mirth and mystery.

“With ‘Trail of Flowers,’ I wanted to make a fuller sound with bigger drums, but still stay true to the stripped-down feel of old-time music whenever it felt right,” says Ferrell. “I wanted to create something that makes people feel nostalgic for the past, but excited about the future of music.”

Like her previous album, 2021’s Long Time Coming, the new album was produced by Gary Paczosa, who is joined this time in the producer roll by Eddie Spear. Guests on the album include Nikki Lane, Lukas Nelson, Chris Scruggs, and Kristen Rogers. Nikki Lane and Kristen Rogers can be heard singing harmonies in the new song just released from the album called “Dollar Bill Bar” (listen below).

“I’m just trying to put words and melodies together and build it into something people can pour their feelings into, all their happiness and sorrows, so that it changes their reality a little bit and gives them some comfort,” Ferrell continues. “To me music is like medicine. Whenever I write a song and it feels healing to me, I know it can heal other people too.”

Sierra Ferrell will have plenty of big opportunities to promote the new album in the coming year. On Thursday evening (1-18), she will be making her network television debut on Jimmy Kimmel Live!

Along with her own headlining dates in 2024 at places like The Ryman Auditorium and Webster Hall in New York that have already sold out, Ferrell will also be opening select stadium shows for Zach Bryan, who she paired with on the song “Holy Roller” that rocketed to #17 on the Billboard Hot Country Songs chart.

Though seeing Sierra Ferrell live is the best way to experience the magic she conjures through music, hopefully Trail of Flowers will continue Ferrell’s momentum that has ensconced her as as headliner in independent country. Another track from the album called “Fox Hunt,” was released in October.

Trail of Flowers Tracklist

1. American Dreaming
2. Dollar Bill Bar
3. Fox Hunt
4. Chittlin’ Cookin’ Time in Cheatham County
5. Wish You Well
6. Money Train
7. I Could Drive You Crazy
8. Why Haven’t You Loved Me Yet
9. Rosemary
10. Lighthouse
11. I’ll Come Off the Mountain
12. No Letter

© 2024 Saving Country Music