The Ameripolitan Awards Announce 2016 Nominees


The 3rd Annual, 2016 Ameripolitan Awards have announced their 2016 nominees. Scheduled to transpire on February 16, 2016 at the historic Paramount Theatre in downtown Austin, it will be hosted by Western Swing legend Ray Benson, and feature performances by many of the nominees and other notables from the “Ameripolitan” realm.

Founded three years ago by staunch country traditionalist Dale Watson after the “Old Farts & Jackasses” comments of Blake Shelton, the Ameripolitan Awards was Dale’s answer to the concern of so many artists doing their best to keep roots traditions alive going unrecognized by the rest of the country music industry. Since the first year, the awards have grown from a ballroom in a hotel in Austin to the Paramount where people from around the country travel to take part in the festivities. The Ameripolitan Music Awards acknowledges “Artists whose music honors tradition while demonstrating exceptional originality, creativity, and musicianship,” and is a 501(c)3 organization.

This year voting for the nominees will begin on November 26th, and can happen one of two ways: on, or through a new app designed by Ballot Blaster. The app will cost $1.99, with a portion of the proceeds going to the Fender Music Foundation.

“We love the irony of using a modern app for a genre of music with historic roots,” says Dale Watson. “There’s a practicality to it, but the most exciting aspect is offering voters fresh, exciting content. It’s not just voting it’s an experience. Users can learn more about each nominee, discover new music and explore artists they might not otherwise know. Our friend Richard at Ballot Blaster worked hard with us to create something new for Ameripolitan fans.”

Tickets to the 2016 Ameripolitan Awards can be purchased from the Paramount.


 The 2016 Ameripolitan Nominees




Honky Tonk Group

  • Casey James Prestwood and the Burning Angels
  • The Country Side of Harmonica Sam
  • The Starline Rhythm Boys
  • Jeff Woolsey and the Dancehall Kings
  • JP Harris and the Tough Choices

Honky Tonk Female

  • Miss Leslie
  • Kelsey Waldon
  • Margo Price
  • Brennen Leigh
  • Tara Dunphy

Honk Tonk Male

  • Jake Penrod
  • Charlie Thompson
  • Cale Tyson
  • Mike Dart
  • Jason James




Western Swing Group

  • Billy Mata and the Texas Tradition
  • JP Cyr & His Radio Wranglers
  • Hot Texas Swing Band
  • Carolyn Sills
  • Western Swing Authority

Western Swing Female

  • Carolyn Martin
  • Kristyn Harris
  • Mikki Daniel
  • Stacey Lee Guse
  • Katie Glassman

Western Swing Male

  • Jason Roberts
  • Billy Mata
  • Doug Moreland
  • Kelly Spinks
  • Coby Carter




Rockabilly Group

  • The Neon Stars
  • The Bellfuries
  • Don Diego Trio
  • The B-Stars
  • Nathan Belt & The Buckles

Rockabilly Female

  • Marti Brom
  • Sara Dee
  • Emmy Lou
  • Lara Hope
  • BaileyDee

Rockabilly Male

  • Jinx Jones
  • Chris Casello
  • Wayne Hancock
  • Scotty Baker
  • Paul Pigat




Outlaw Group

  • The Hillbilly Casino
  • Dallas Moore Band
  • The Ponderosa Aces
  • Jason Boland & The Stragglers
  • Eric Strickland and the B-Sides

Outlaw Female

  • Darci Carlson
  • Rachel Brooke
  • Bonnie Montgomery
  • Tommy Ash
  • Jesse Lafser

Outlaw Male

  • Whitey Morgan
  • Roger Alan Wade
  • Cash O’Riley
  • Scott Biram
  • Bloodshot Bill




  • Icehouse Theater, Selma NC
  • Luckenbach, Luckenbach TX
  • Sportsmen’s Tavern, Buffalo NY
  • Lil’ Red’s Longhorn Saloon, Fort Worth TX
  • Knuckleheads, Kansas City MO
  • The White Horse, Austin TX
  • Skinny Dennis, Brooklyn NY
  • The Thirsty Beaver Saloon, Charlotte NC
  • The Nashville Palace, Nashville TN
  • Don the Beachcomber, Huntington Beach CA


  • Bristol Rhythm and Roots
  • Viva Las Vegas
  • Nashville Boogie
  • San Angelo Cowboy Gathering
  • New England Shake Up


  • Woody Adkins, KOPN 89.5 FM Columbia MO
  • Justin Trevino, KEQX 89.7 FM Dublin TX
  • Gordon “Big G” Ames KERV 1230 Kerrville, TX
  • Timothy Benton, KSVY 91.3 FM Sonoma Valley, CA
  • Johnny Knoxville and Roger Alan Wade Outlaw Country, Sirius/XM Radio
  • James Riley SURF 97.3 FM Flager Beach FL
  • Eddie White, 2RRR 88.5 FM Sydney Australia
  • Ted Branson, KOOP 91.7FM Austin, TX
  • Elizabeth Cook, Outlaw Country, Sirius/XM Radio
  • “Cousin” Lynn Joiner, WHRB 95.3 FM, Cambridge, MA


  • Joel Paterson
  • Chris Casello
  • Jason Roberts
  • Paul Pigat
  • Redd Volkaert
  • Tjarko Jeen
  • Rose Sinclair
  • Richard Helsley
  • Floyd Domino
  • Lisa Pankratz
  • Earl “Pool” Ball
  • Jim Loessberg
  • Chris Scruggs
  • Bobby Trimble
  • Dave Biller
© 2023 Saving Country Music