The Ameripolitan Awards Announce 2019 Nominees

Whitney Rose / Ray Wylie Hubbard / Mike & The Moonpies / Zephaniah OHora / Tommy Ash

The Ameripolitan Awards are gearing up for another installment in 2019, set to take place for a second year in a row in Memphis, Tennessee after its first few years in Austin. With pre-parties set to transpire the weekend before, the 2019 Ameripolitan Awards will be held once again at the Guesthouse at Graceland on Monday, February 25th.

“After such an amazing experience fans and artists alike had in Memphis this year, it was a no-brainer to stay in Memphis for 2019,” says Ameripolitan founder Dale Watson. “The city of Memphis has welcomed the Ameripolitan Awards and its showcases with open arms and we truly feel the appreciation. We want to give back in that regard, and that’s why the 2019 event will have showcases featured all over Memphis, so the fans and artists can get out and experience this great city and its musical history.”

One change is the awards will be moved from the ballroom at the Guesthouse at Graceland to the Guesthouse theater—a 464-seat venue that will be more similar to the setup at the Paramount Theater in Austin from previous years.

Ahead of the awards, the nominees in 13 separate categories have been announced over the past few days via Ameripolitan’s social media feeds. Ameripolitan is still waiting to finalize the last few categories before opening voting. One significant change from previous years is each category only has four nominees instead of five.

Founded by Dale Watson after the “Old Farts & Jackasses” comments of Blake Shelton, the Ameripolitan Awards is Dale Watson’s effort to keep roots traditions alive and celebrate artists going unrecognized by the rest of the country music industry. Since the inaugural year, the awards have grown from a ballroom in a hotel in Austin, to Austin’s Paramount where people from around the country travel to take part in the festivities, to now moving to Memphis. The Ameripolitan Music Awards acknowledges “Artists whose music honors tradition while demonstrating exceptional originality, creativity, and musicianship,” and is a 501(c)3 organization.

Tickets to the 2018 Ameripolitan awards are now available for purchase.

 – – – – – – – – –


Honky Tonk Male

Jesse Daniel
Pat Reedy
Zephaniah OHora
Casey James Prestwood

Honky Tonk Female

Tommy Ash
Bonnie Montgomery
Whitney Rose
Malin Petterson

Honky Tonk Group

Two Tons of Steel
Country Heroes
The Lawrence Peters Outfit
Dan Whitaker and The Shinebenders

Outlaw Male 

Ray Wylie Hubbard
Billy Don Burns
Dallas Moore
Steve Griggs

Outlaw Female

Rebecca Jed
Sarah Borges
Summer Dean
Sarah Gayle Meech

Outlaw Group

Mike and the Moonpies
The Pine Hill Haints
The Rhyolite Sound
Andrea & Mud

Rockabilly Male

Marcel Riesco
Pat Capocci
Jimmy Dale
Levi Dexter

Rockabilly Female

Cherry Rat Engelbrecht
Abby Maharaj
Tammi Savoy
Ruby Ann

Rockabilly Group

The Delta Bombers
Shaun Young & The 3 Ringers
The Desperados
Colton Turner Band

Western Swing Male

Kyle Eldridge
Justin Trevino
Farmer Keenan
Coby Carter

Western Swing Female 

Grace Adele
Wendy Newcomer
Cheryl Deserée
Stacey Lee Guse

Western Swing Group

The Western Swing Authority
The Western Flyers
Big Cedar Fever
The Lucky Stars


The Grand Ole Echo
Knuckleheads Saloon
Luckenbach Texas
Robert’s Western World
Rattlesnake Saloon
Southgate House Revival
Mercury Lounge Tulsa


Katie Shore
Kevin Smith
Ashley Kingman
Kenny Vaughan
Deke Dickerson
Joel Paterson
Mike Bernal
Rose Sinclair

© 2024 Saving Country Music