The Ameripolitan Awards Announce 2020 Nominees

Zephaniah OHora/Jaime Wyatt/Charley Crockett/Kathryn Legendre

What is “Ameripolitan”? It’s an effort to support artists and bands that are too country for country, and that carry a prominent roots music influence. Founded by Dale Watson after the “Old Farts & Jackasses” comments of Blake Shelton, the Ameripolitan Awards is Dale Watson’s effort to celebrate artists going unrecognized by the rest of the country music industry, and is now in its 7th year.

Since the inaugural year, the awards have grown from a ballroom in a hotel in Austin, to Austin’s Paramount Theater, to now moving to Memphis for its third straight year. The 7th Annual Awards will take place February 24th, 2020 at 8 p.m. the Guesthouse at Graceland in Memphis, and will be part of a greater weekend celebration with numerous showcases, events, and performances.

The nominees for the 2020 Ameripolitan Award have been announced in 13 separate categories. One shakeup for the awards in 2020 is there will be no “Outlaw” categories. They have been combined with “Honky Tonk” to resolve any confusion between the two. Along with the eventual winners, legendary guitarist Duane Eddy will be honored with the 2020 Ameripolitan Master Award, and Sun Records drummer J.M. “Jimmy” Van Eaton will be honored with the Founder of the Sound Award.

The Ameripolitan Awards will also feature performances from Mike and the Moonpies, Tammi Savoy, Summer Dean, Big Cedar Fever, Jimmy Dale Richardson, Grace Adele, Justin Trevino, Jesse Daniel, Whitney Rose, and Two Tons of Steel. Big Sandy of Big Sandy and His Fly-Rite Boys, and Dorris Mayday will host.

The Ameripolitan Music Awards acknowledges “Artists whose music honors tradition while demonstrating exceptional originality, creativity, and musicianship,” and is a 501(c)3 organization.

Tickets to the 2020 Ameripolitan awards are now available for purchase.

Voting for the awards is open to the public. More information about the upcoming awards and all the events for the 2020 Ameripolitan weekender will be coming soon.

Vote For The 2020 Ameripolitan Awards

Honky Tonk Male

Zephaniah OHora
Charley Crockett
Pat Reedy
Johnny Falstaff

Honky Tonk Female

Jaime Wyatt
Sarah Gayle Meech
Kathryn Legendre
Sarah Vista

Honky Tonk Group

The Country Side of Harmonica Sam
Western Centuries
The Shootouts
Casey James Prestwood Band

Rockabilly Male

Bloodshot Bill
Eddie Clendening
Jittery Jack
Shaun Young

Rockabilly Female

Laura Palmer
Amber Foxx
Ruby Ann
Linda Gail Lewis

Rockabilly Group

Modern Don Juans
Bebo & The Good Time Boys
Mark Gamsjager and the The Lustre Kings
Trix O Treat Band

Western Swing Male

Ranger Doug
Kyle Eldridge
Keenan Wade (Farmer & Adele)
Dave Stuckey

Western Swing Female 

Georgia Parker
Cheryl Deserée
Wendy Newcomer
Katie Shore

Western Swing Group

The Farmer and Adele
The Urban Pioneers
Bill and the Belles
50 Shades of Hay


American Legion Post 82 – Nashville
Southgate House Revival – Newport, KY
Luckenbach, TX
Skinny Dennis – Brooklyn, NY
Dee’s Country Cocktail Lounge – Nashville
Duke’s Indy – Indianapolis, IN


Joel Patterson
Rose Sinclair
Sean Mencher
Amy Griffin
Bobby Trimble
Becky Hinson
Mike Bernal


Bristol Rhythm & Roots Reunion
High Rockabilly- Spain
Western Swingout Weekender -Tehachapi, California
SYMCO Weekender – Symco, Wisconsin


Kevin Martinez
Celia Villagran
Don Sticksel
Marivi Yubero García
Jimi Palacios
Eddie White

© 2024 Saving Country Music