The Winners of the 2016 Ameripolitan Awards


Dale Watson’s 3rd Annual, 2016 Ameripolitan Awards went down Tuesday night in Austin at the Paramount Theatre, with awards handed out in the categories of “Honky Tonk,” “Western Swing,” “Rockabilly,” and “Outlaw,” designated by male and female, and groups. Additional awards were handed out favorite venues, festivals, DJ’s, and musicians.

Ray Benson hosted for the first time, and Founder of the Sound awards were handed out to Wanda Jackson, who unfortunately couldn’t make the festivities due to weather, and Red Simpson who passed away in January. The 2016 Master Award was handed out to Charley Pride who was in attendance, and performed three song.

READ & SEE: The 2016 Ameripolitan Awards in Words and Pictures

Ameripolitan was founded three years ago by traditional country artist Dale Watson and was inspired by the “Old Farts & Jackasses” comments of Blake Shelton. The Ameripolitan Awards are Dale’s answer to the concern of so many artists doing their best to keep roots traditions alive who are going unrecognized by the rest of the country music industry. The inaugural awards were held in a ballroom in a hotel in Austin and moved to the Paramount in 2015. The Ameripolitan Music Awards acknowledges “Artists whose music honors tradition while demonstrating exceptional originality, creativity, and musicianship,” and is a 501(c)3 organization. Fans and artists from around the country and world have traveled to take part in the festivities.

 The 2016 Ameripolitan Winners




Honky Tonk Group

  • Casey James Prestwood and the Burning Angels
  • The Country Side of Harmonica Sam
  • The Starline Rhythm Boys
  • Jeff Woolsey and the Dancehall Kings -WINNER
  • JP Harris and the Tough Choices

Honky Tonk Female

  • Miss Leslie
  • Kelsey Waldon
  • Margo Price – WINNER
  • Brennen Leigh
  • Tara Dunphy

Honk Tonk Male

  • Jake Penrod
  • Charlie Thompson – WINNER
  • Cale Tyson
  • Mike Dart
  • Jason James




Western Swing Group

  • Billy Mata and the Texas Tradition – WINNER
  • JP Cyr & His Radio Wranglers
  • Hot Texas Swing Band
  • Carolyn Sills
  • Western Swing Authority

Western Swing Female

  • Carolyn Martin – WINNER
  • Kristyn Harris
  • Mikki Daniel
  • Stacey Lee Guse
  • Katie Glassman

Western Swing Male

  • Jason Roberts – WINNER
  • Billy Mata
  • Doug Moreland
  • Kelly Spinks
  • Coby Carter




Rockabilly Group

  • The Neon Stars
  • The Bellfuries – WINNER
  • Don Diego Trio
  • The B-Stars
  • Nathan Belt & The Buckles

Rockabilly Female

  • Marti Brom – WINNER
  • Sara Dee
  • Emmy Lou
  • Lara Hope
  • BaileyDee

Rockabilly Male

  • Jinx Jones
  • Chris Casello
  • Wayne Hancock -WINNER
  • Scotty Baker
  • Paul Pigat




Outlaw Group

  • The Hillbilly Casino
  • Dallas Moore Band
  • The Ponderosa Aces
  • Jason Boland & The Stragglers – WINNER
  • Eric Strickland and the B-Sides

Outlaw Female

  • Darci Carlson
  • Rachel Brooke
  • Bonnie Montgomery – WINNER
  • Tommy Ash
  • Jesse Lafser

Outlaw Male

  • Whitey Morgan – WINNER
  • Roger Alan Wade
  • Cash O’Riley
  • Scott Biram
  • Bloodshot Bill




  • Icehouse Theater, Selma NC
  • Luckenbach, Luckenbach TX
  • Sportsmen’s Tavern, Buffalo NY
  • Lil’ Red’s Longhorn Saloon, Fort Worth TX
  • Knuckleheads, Kansas City MO
  • The White Horse, Austin TX – WINNER
  • Skinny Dennis, Brooklyn NY
  • The Thirsty Beaver Saloon, Charlotte NC
  • The Nashville Palace, Nashville TN
  • Don the Beachcomber, Huntington Beach CA


  • Bristol Rhythm and Roots
  • Viva Las Vegas
  • Nashville Boogie
  • San Angelo Cowboy Gathering – WINNER
  • New England Shake Up


  • Woody Adkins, KOPN 89.5 FM Columbia MO
  • Justin Trevino, KEQX 89.7 FM Dublin TX
  • Gordon “Big G” Ames KERV 1230 Kerrville, TX
  • Timothy Benton, KSVY 91.3 FM Sonoma Valley, CA
  • Johnny Knoxville and Roger Alan Wade Outlaw Country, Sirius/XM Radio
  • James Riley SURF 97.3 FM Flager Beach FL
  • Eddie White, 2RRR 88.5 FM Sydney Australia
  • Ted Branson, KOOP 91.7FM Austin, TX -WINNER
  • Elizabeth Cook, Outlaw Country, Sirius/XM Radio
  • “Cousin” Lynn Joiner, WHRB 95.3 FM, Cambridge, MA


  • Joel Paterson
  • Chris Casello
  • Jason Roberts – WINNER
  • Paul Pigat
  • Redd Volkaert
  • Tjarko Jeen
  • Rose Sinclair
  • Richard Helsley
  • Floyd Domino
  • Lisa Pankratz
  • Earl “Pool” Ball
  • Jim Loessberg
  • Chris Scruggs
  • Bobby Trimble
  • Dave Biller
© 2023 Saving Country Music