Chris Stapleton to Release New Albums “From A Room: Volume #1” and “Volume #2”


This story has been updated.

Finally, there is some information about Chris Stapleton’s upcoming album, or albums.

Stapleton’s From A Room: Volume #1 will be released on May 5th, and a second installment, From A Room: Volume #2, will be released later in 2017. This is the news coming out of a mostly private album release party conducted Wednesday evening (4-5) at Nashville’s Studio ‘A’ operated by Chris Stapleton producer Dave Cobb, and where the two records were recorded live with Stapleton’s band.

“I’m real proud of this record,” Stapleton said to the crowd according to The Tennessean. “We made it right here in (RCA Studio A) like the last one. We camped out in here … and had a lot of fun recording things.”

From A Room: Volume #1 will include nine tracks, of which eight were co-written by Stapleton. Some were co-written with Mike Henderson—a SteelDrivers alumnus like Stapleton. “Either Way” was originally cut by Lee Ann Womack on her 2008 album Call Me Crazy. The album also includes a cover of the song “Last Thing I Needed, First Thing This Morning” recorded by Willie Nelson, and written by Gary P. Nunn and Donna Sioux Farar.

“So pleased and honored to attend Chris Stapleton’s new album release party in Nashville tonight,” Gary P. Nunn posted on social media Wednesday evening. “Chris did a extremely soulful performance on the cut. I couldn’t be more proud.”

The ‘A’ in From A Room is emphasized because the album was recorded in Studio ‘A’. The album features Dave Cobb on acoustic guitar, Morgane Stapleton on harmony vocals, J.T. Cure on bass, Derek Mixon on drums, Mickey Raphael on harmonica, Robby Turner on pedal steel, and Mike Webb on keys.

UPDATE: At midnight Wednesday night/Thursday morning, the album populated as a pre-order on iTunes. Also, Pre-order bundles were made available Thursday (4-6).

  1. Presumed cover art
    Presumed cover art

    “Broken Halos” (Chris Stapleton, Mike Henderson)

  2. “Last Thing I Needed, First Thing This Morning” (Gary P. Nunn, Donna Sioux Farar)
  3. “Second To Know” (Chris Stapleton, Mike Henderson)
  4. “Up To No Good Livin'” (Chris Stapleton, Casey Beathard)
  5. “Either Way” (Chris Stapleton, Tim James, Kendall Marvel)
  6. “I Was Wrong” (Chris Stapleton, Craig Wiseman)
  7. “Without Your Love” (Chris Stapleton, Mike Henderson)
  8. “Them Stems (Chris Stapleton, Jimmy Stewart and Shawn Camp)
  9. “Death Row” (Chris Stapleton, Mike Henderson)

It was first revealed on February 16th that Chris Stapleton’s sophomore solo record would be released on May 5th, but it wasn’t accompanied or proceed by any details such as the title, or the track list. Many thought we might hear more details about the record, or see a single release around Stapleton’s performance on the ACM Awards Sunday, April 2nd, where he performed “Second To Know,” but nothing came. Even after the album release party, nothing official has been announced by Mercury Nashville or the Chris Stapleton camp about the albums, and no single has been released. Expect that to change shortly.

READ: How Mercury Nashville Has Already Bungled Chris Stapleton’s New Album

© 2024 Saving Country Music